• If You Are Having Trouble Logging In with Your Old Username and Password, Please use this Forgot Your Password link to get re-established.
  • Hey! Be sure to login or register!

Flap Gap Seals

murph

Rotan, TX.
I have gap seals on my flaps on my -18 with standard wings and flaps. Can anyone give me a comparison with and without these?
murph

For sure Murph.........the ones with flap gap seals have a narrow length of aluminum attached between the wing trailing edge and the flap.

Do you have a 337 for these? My guess is they would be more for speed, but I'm not an engineer.

If it's for speed, I don't think it's working.

Dave, sometimes you just crack me up.

murph

Actually Murph...........I believe that the seals were put on to "hold" more air and make the flaps more effective instead of the air spilling out between the wing and flap. Anybody? Is this right?

Most gap seals are for drag reduction and smoothing of flight surfaces, so I know their purpose. My question is, do these on a cub help anything? Slow flight? Speed? or just another waste of time and money. They fly fine, but I only fly my cub, so don't have anything to compare with.
murph

Are we talking about the stock ones on top or the strips underneath that completely close off the entire airflow? If it's the ones on the bottom, I have heard from someone who should know that they increase the stall speed and are a waste of time.

I would expect the flap gap seals to kill the slot function, decrease your CLmax, and increase your landing speed. They might increase the cruise, but I doubt if it would be all that much.
JimC

I always hesitate to jump in on these discussions of aerodynamics. I thought I knew a couple of things, but then Jerry Burr or Jim C. comes along and I have to learn it all over again.

Flap gap FLOW is a GOOD thing, and helps in the production of low-speed lift.