• If You Are Having Trouble Logging In with Your Old Username and Password, Please use this Forgot Your Password link to get re-established.
  • Hey! Be sure to login or register!

The skinny on a CFI rating?

Carbon Cub Chick

Little Rock
I am finishing up my Instrument and will then get my Commercial and would then like to get my CFI rating. I have not looked into what all is involved in getting your CFI...except to talk to several who have basically said a lot of it is self taught (in that you can't teach someone to be a teacher). Anyhow, any information you could give would be great (the ups and downs)! I just want to pass on the joy of flying and maybe make some $ for av gas...oh, and teach my 10 yr. old son how to fly.

p.s. Is that big, strapping 6'5 dude going to take one look at this 5'1 chick that needs a cushion to see over the panel and think :eek: ???
:lol:

Hey Tish,

I'm finishing up my instrument ticket and starting on my CFI now. I've heard it takes about 10 or 15 hours of flight training to get the rating. You're not really learning anything new, just how to do it from the other seat and explain everything, etc. Same maneuvers you did for your private and commercial.

There is quite a bit of studying, though. The oral exam is supposed to be killer. There are 2 written tests, as well. I took the Fundamentals of Instruction test a couple weeks ago and am taking the Flight Instructor-Airplane test tomorrow. They are both easier than the instrument written.

I would also like to hear some advice from the CFI's here about the rating, checkride, etc.

Thomas