• If You Are Having Trouble Logging In with Your Old Username and Password, Please use this Forgot Your Password link to get re-established.
  • Hey! Be sure to login or register!

What do you use to clean your fabric?

AvidFlyer

Fairfield, CA
I am fairly new to fabric covered airplanes. I was curious what method/chemicals you guys use to clean your Ceconite/Randolph coated airplanes? I'm worried about the paint when cleaning bugs off the leading edges and such. So far I've just been using Plexus and a microfiber rag that is no longer suitable for the windshield since that's what's on my bench but that Plexus is expensive! Thoughts??

AvidFlyer said:
I am fairly new to fabric covered airplanes. I was curious what method/chemicals you guys use to clean your Ceconite/Randolph coated airplanes? I'm worried about the paint when cleaning bugs off the leading edges and such. So far I've just been using Plexus and a microfiber rag that is no longer suitable for the windshield since that's what's on my bench but that Plexus is expensive! Thoughts??

one thing you don't want to use... costco sells "oil Eater" it will turn your white dope yellow ish quickly.. (actually i use it on small areas with a immediate quick clean off of that area then with isopropyl? alcohol, which is pretty harsh and scary also, good for moving vinyl numbers/names clearing a faded area, but you might just clean through to silver!!...)

We use Dawn dish soap, or any kind of shampoo. Spot treat with with a spray bottle of 409, Simple Green, or Crown Cleaner "Spray Power" on the heavy spots.

nkh

For bugs and belly oil, use "Bounce" dryer sheets....just keep them moist/wet.

I use a spray bottle of water and then the bounce....make sure you rinse with fresh water and towel dry, otherwise you will see a soapy film.

No need to rub too hard. I have used this for many years on fabric airplanes and it always does a great job.

Lou