• If You Are Having Trouble Logging In with Your Old Username and Password, Please use this Forgot Your Password link to get re-established.
  • Hey! Be sure to login or register!

Need advice on purchase (first plane)

olibuilt,
congrats on your new ride and i am glad to see you pulled it off in good style after being battered by many of our rough and gruff comments along the way.
olibuilt rules.

garyh said:
olibuilt,
congrats on your new ride and i am glad to see you pulled it off in good style after being battered by many of our rough and gruff comments along the way.

Thanks guys. I'm just a beginner wanting to learn. Every comment is constructive to me.

Don't worry about the skis, the go off this week when I receive mines. I'll rigged em good next time.

Prestine planes normally cost premium prices. Most of the time your best deal wll be someone who is losing thier medical or wanting to switch types of aircraft(cub to 180 or vise versa), having financial difficultlies or divorce must sell. Unless your buying new, everyplane is going to be different, especially tube and fabric planes. Here in Alaska, certain mod's that the FAA wont approve anymore are very valuable, even though they wont necessarily be reflected in the price. Just take you time and you will find what you looking for.

Uh, did you say the wings were aluminum? Aluminum covered? Or aluminum spars and ribs? Are the spars and ribs wood?

Looking at the pictures I notice there are no inspection openings on the underside of the wings. Just how did you inspect the wings without them?

The wings are aluminium covered like you see in the pictures. Aluminium ribs and spars too. All the belly is aluminium too for a quick disasemble.

2 inspection holes per wings near the fuselage, and 2 (6x10 inch) inspection plates near the pulleys.