• If You Are Having Trouble Logging In with Your Old Username and Password, Please use this Forgot Your Password link to get re-established.
  • Hey! Be sure to login or register!

Pan Pan! Pan Pan!

CubDriver218

Minnesota
About a month ago I was flying along at about 600 AGL having some fun flying back to the Twin Cities from up north. The relationship between Tuff Tweety and myself is still fairly new and like most relationships it's started off very well, but time is what makes or breaks most relationships. All of a sudden I hear a very loud chatter and Bang! Bang! Bang! I'm no expert mechanic but it sounded a lot like rod slap or piston slap to me. I've had some oil consumption issues so immediately think the worst as I check all of my gauges which all read normal. So, I bring the throttle back and pull the nose up to slow the airplane down while I try to figure out what to do. A quick check of my invaluable 496 says I have a strip right off my right wing which is a big relief since I now think I'm going to live to tell about my first in flight emergency.

As I settle down with the field in site I look around to try to figure out what has actually happened because all my gauges read good and the airplane feels responsive to throttle inputs I notice that the weather stripping that goes around the windscreen had come off and was flapping in the wind banging on the top of the fuselage right above my head making and awful racket. I was only about 6 miles away from my home strip so I flew slow back to my own hangar to assess the damage. Not wanting to give up any flying time I simply put some Gorilla tape over the weather stripping to hold it down so I can fly until I fix it correctly.