• If You Are Having Trouble Logging In with Your Old Username and Password, Please use this Forgot Your Password link to get re-established.
  • Hey! Be sure to login or register!

Charging Problem - generator

farm_boy252

Norman wells, NT
I'm not a mechanic and my electrical system knowledge is limited....with that here is the issue:

My generator ceased solid and smoked the belt off. I was on a long trip and met and awesome crop duster, A&P and fellow cub owner in ND. He gave me a used gen, I got a belt from napa and he put it on. Its still not charging however. He put power to the gen in reverse before install and it turned. He also flashed the field. I ended up just charging the batt and flying home to Canada (didn't have far and fighting weather the whole trip). Now that home changed the regulator and same problem. I don't see any bad fuses and the gen circuit breaker never popped but I tried pulling/resetting anyway.

Does anyone have ideas on what the issue might be? Is the used gen most likely no good? I'm guessing most people will say just do the alternator conversion now but was hoping to hold off on that until next annual inspection.

Thanks in advance

He 'flashed the field' is a red flag for me. Usually done without cause and usually done incorrectly. Take the generator to an auto parts store that can test it (tell them it's off an old truck). If it tests good then you'll need to check the reg.

In all seriousness, if either the generator or the reg is bad, it's time for the alternator. You'll be happy when it's installed.

Web

Flashing a gen field...that's 58 yrs ago tech from auto mech school. Lots of links online on how and how not to do it....and not cook the reg.

Gary