Thread: Securing Aircraft in Extreme Conditions...Excellent Presentation

Post Thanks / Like

Securing Aircraft in Extreme Conditions...Excellent Presentation

Kudos to Denny Serie, Michael Schoder and Andy Flack for an awesome and relevant Hump Day Presentation! Very informative and the chemistry between you fellas was quite good.

Knots. As a farm boy I knew a few basic knots, as a surgeon I learned a few more, as a fly fisherman I learned even a few more. The review of knotting techniques for properly securing our aircraft, though, was very helpful. I know that SJ indicated that he may rope you (pun intended) into doing a session on knots, Denny, and that would be great.

One of the things I have experienced is the need to review knots once in awhile. While I have tied hundreds of thousands of surgical knots, not so much for knots we use (bowline, trucker's hitch). I find myself wondering how the heck the rabbit gets into the hole when tying the bowline and I frequently look around to make sure none of my buddies are standing there making fun of me as I fumble with the danged rabbit.

Several years ago I came across a handkerchief/bandana at REI that has several knots printed there upon. I bought several in different colors, as I find carrying a handkerchief quite useful, in general, but one with common knots is very helpful.

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Handerchief big.jpg 
Views:	428 
Size:	146.4 KB 
ID:	59512

Name:	Bowline handerchief.jpg 
Views:	416 
Size:	179.6 KB 
ID:	59513

Name:	Trucker's Hitch.jpg 
Views:	428 
Size:	171.2 KB 
ID:	59514

Denny, a request...if/when you do the Zoom session please have things well-lit and in full screen mode, and slow things down a bit for old farts like me.

Again, it was a great way to spend time watching your presentation, fellas. Thank you for taking time to share your knowledge with us.

Randy
    Likes Wag2+2, SJ liked this post

Post Thanks / Like
    Thanks Wag2+2 thanked for this post