Thread: Javron PA18 newbie

Post Thanks / Like

Javron PA18 newbie

Hi everyone, my names Damian and I live in Australia and have just ordered a PA18 Javron kit from Jay. Im fairly new to flying only starting aroud 9 years ago and we've owned an Australian designed 2 seat aerobat cruiser called a Victa Airtourer, followed by an Rv7A and now the old bus - the cessna 172XP. Im 6'2 and always felt like a praying mantis in the first two, and as much as we love the 172XP for big trips, its a boring bus to fly.

I don't have great access to Cubs where I live, but after seeing my first - I was sold! After a few flights and seeing them in Oshkosh a few years ago I'm finally in a fortunate enough position to purchase and build. Whilst we wait our turn for Jay's production run, I'm taking this opportunity to purchase tools and setup my workshop as I have to almost import everything from the USA for this build. It's all a bit daunting not being able to see first hand half of the things I need to buy, however thanks to some wonderful online resources, trips to Kosh and communities like Supercub.org couple with a bit of good ole faith - I'm looking forward to this project.
    With the "Rona" lockdowns we are experiencing down-under, I also need to put some of this wasted time to better use.

After considering the style of flying my wife and I do, together with destroying my back and a knee in an accident, this has steered some of our options. My wife will also likely learn to fly in this too!