Thread: Airless for polyfiber?

Post Thanks / Like

Airless for polyfiber?

Has anyone successfully used an airless sprayer for polyfiber? I want to do some recovering where I donít have air and I am not going to buy a turbine sprayer. It will be with a polytone top coat. Tim

Post Thanks / Like
    Don't airless guns need air pressure?
    I graduated from a Binks model 18 to a Graco turbine two months ago - made a dramatic difference! I could do a complete coat in half the time with more even pattern.

Post Thanks / Like
    Even a single stage turbine will do a far better job than an airless sprayer (which uses electricity to spin a tiny turbine and produce air). Not that expensive and a much better job for something you expect to last for years. I used a single stage many years ago for a couple jobs with good results. I now am on my second 4 stage turbine (wore one out) , and it is far superior. You get what you pay for.

Post Thanks / Like
    If you could borrow a portable pancake compressor you could use the type of gravity feed HVLP guns that use shop air turned down to 40psi. Work great and they're giving them away. They have very little overspray compared to an old suction gun.
    What's a go-around?

Post Thanks / Like
    Well my hope was to use a 10 gallon paint pot that has a stir function to keep the silver mixed then have the airless so I can just keep doing coats. Maybe I will have to experiment... and I cannot seem to get good clean dry air from my compressor...even with filters and desiccant dryer I get fish eyes so airless might solve a few problems for me. These are just ideas...trying to think things trough. Tim
    Likes dgapilot liked this post

Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by astjp2 View Post