• If You Are Having Trouble Logging In with Your Old Username and Password, Please use this Forgot Your Password link to get re-established.
  • Hey! Be sure to login or register!

Aircraft insurance - need insurance for an old, relatively stock super cub

DanP

Hudson, MA
Wondering if anyone has suggestions for aircraft insurance carriers and/or an idea of what is a reasonable rate. It is an old (1950), basically stock super cub with an O-320. New fabric in 2015, fairly low time on overhauled engine. Original interior. I am also a fairly low-time pilot.

I’ve got what I think is pretty good insurance through Avemco. How much you pay is going to be determined by time in type and hull value. On good thing about them when I first started as a low time tailwheel pilot was that at every 25 hr they would lower my rate until I had 100 hs. I showed them! I logged 100hrs in about 5-6 weeks! They also automatically assume as a super Cub it will be used off airport. All insurance is going up big time now as there have been a larger number of incidents in the last few years. Good luck with the new Cub!

Thank you! It is actually my dad's plane that he has been flying for 50 years. I got my tailwheel endorsement and am borrowing it to put some time on. I have a fair amount of informal hours in the plane flying dual, but not much in terms of solo hours. In any case, I will take a look at Avemco.

Dan, sounds like a great airplane. I am also an old, relatively stock 1950 model.

john

Although I haven't flown that many different airplanes, in my humble opinion, it IS a great airplane! I really like those old Super Cubs! It has been in my family since my grandfather bought it in the 60's. My goal is to NOT file an insurance claim, but I want to err on the side of caution.

Wondering if anyone has suggestions for aircraft insurance carriers and/or an idea of what is a reasonable rate......

It kinda doesn't matter what anyone thinks is a reasonable rate.