• If You Are Having Trouble Logging In with Your Old Username and Password, Please use this Forgot Your Password link to get re-established.
  • Hey! Be sure to login or register!

The big slip

cgoldy

Moogerah Queensland Australia
I am not a numbers man and fly by feel. I fly slow and low 90% of the time and just love it. But sometimes I wonder about my slips. I am comfortable slipping all the way to the flare, full rudder and appropriate aileron. I have been slipping like this for 15 years. But I don’t understand what the ASI is telling me. If I am flying at 30 knots, 5 knts above my stall, and radically slip, I often see 45 on the AIS but I don’t think I have altered the stick position. I would think in a slip the pitot would be traveling sideways to the airflow and showing a lower IAS. The plane always feels solid and safe in a radical slip. Am I close to something I have not experienced before? Am I subconsciously adding forward stick? Does stick position in relation to stall still apply in a slip? Please no smart arse comments about safe flying.

cgoldy

why dont you just experiment a little? I find this works the best, climb up to an altitude you would be happy to enter a spin from (usually 2000ft AGL is good for me) set an imaginary altitude as "ground" and try a couple of slips with the stick in different positions. not saying you will enter a spin but I am rather happier to be higher than lower

Have you tried with a slip to the other side. Just as a test. Reasoning, I would be curious if the fuselage is blanking the spanwise flow and building pressure in the region of the pitot which in a slip to the other side would result in a reduction of pressure in the pitot region.
Good chance this has no effect as well and is a broken theory.