Results 1 to 35 of 35

Thread: Trig ty91 vhf radio

  1. #1
    Mauleguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    738
    Post Thanks / Like

    Trig ty91 vhf radio

    I have a very faint click noise in my radio, it makes the same noise whether the engine is running or not. It really bugged me the first few hours, I am slowly getting use to it, 20 hours on the new Cub now. I guess in another 100 I will forget about it, any suggestions. Brand new radio

  2. #2
    skywagon8a's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    SE Mass
    Posts
    10,679
    Post Thanks / Like
    Perhaps this is a dumb question, but do you also have a transponder? Could it be that it is actually the transponder reply transmission which is bleeding through?
    N1PA

  3. #3
    wireweinie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Palmer, AK
    Posts
    3,526
    Post Thanks / Like
    Transponder installed? Any other electrically active electrical equipment installed? Are you sure the noise is coming from the radio and not the intercom?

    Plug headset into the pilots position. Listen for the noise and pull the circuit breakers one at a time and see which one makes the noise go away. This should narrow down the noise source.

    Web
    Life's tough . . . wear a cup.

  4. #4
    wireweinie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Palmer, AK
    Posts
    3,526
    Post Thanks / Like
    Crap! He beat me to it!

    Web
    Life's tough . . . wear a cup.
    Likes skywagon8a liked this post

  5. #5
    Mauleguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    738
    Post Thanks / Like
    Yeah I have the Trig Transponder with ADSB also. I am using the built in intercom of the Trig Radio.

    Thanks I will try the breakers

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Meanwhile,...
    Posts
    5,319
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Mauleguy View Post
    Yeah I have the Trig Transponder with ADSB also. I am using the built in intercom of the Trig Radio.

    Thanks I will try the breakers
    Been there done that with the same setup but separate intercom, Pierce and I chased that noise six ways to Sunday and finally moved the transponder antenna to the tail clean out on the belly of my Cub and no more tick, tick, click...

    Disconnect power to the transponder and I bet it goes away.
    Last edited by OLDCROWE; 11-03-2020 at 10:10 AM.
    Remember, These are the Good old Days!
    Thanks Mauleguy thanked for this post

  7. #7
    wireweinie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Palmer, AK
    Posts
    3,526
    Post Thanks / Like
    I figured you'd chime in on this one, lol.

    Web
    Life's tough . . . wear a cup.

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Meanwhile,...
    Posts
    5,319
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by wireweinie View Post
    I figured you'd chime in on this one, lol.

    Web
    That noise is annoying as hell, I wouldn’t even wish it in Eaton.
    Remember, These are the Good old Days!
    Likes RaisedByWolves liked this post

  9. #9
    txpacer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Iowa Park, TX
    Posts
    783
    Post Thanks / Like
    I have a low level background noise in my Trig with the intercom off. The volume is independent of the radio volume, so I just turn down the headset volume, up on the radio, problem solved.
    Thanks LVDS3 thanked for this post

  10. #10
    RaisedByWolves's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    4,211
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by OLDCROWE View Post
    Been there done that with the same setup but separate intercom, Pierce and I chased that noise six ways to Sunday and finally moved the transponder antenna to the tail clean out on the belly of my Cub and no more tick, tick, click...

    Disconnect power to the transponder and I bet it goes away.
    Weird. Don’t have that with mine


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  11. #11
    Bearhawk Builder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    In the woods
    Posts
    747
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by OLDCROWE View Post
    Been there done that with the same setup but separate intercom, Pierce and I chased that noise six ways to Sunday and finally moved the transponder antenna to the tail clean out on the belly of my Cub and no more tick, tick, click...

    Disconnect power to the transponder and I bet it goes away.
    Did you have the TN72 ADS-B also with the TA70 WAAS antenna? I've been curious if that antenna would have any effect on the com if too close to each other.

  12. #12
    wireweinie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Palmer, AK
    Posts
    3,526
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Bearhawk Builder View Post
    Did you have the TN72 ADS-B also with the TA70 WAAS antenna? I've been curious if that antenna would have any effect on the com if too close to each other.
    Shouldn't cause noise in the headset. The GPS antenna is passive, meaning it only receives, never transmits. On the other hand, the transponder antenna transmits LOTS of power. Usually not a problem if comm antennas are on top.

    Web
    Life's tough . . . wear a cup.
    Thanks Bearhawk Builder thanked for this post

  13. #13
    wireweinie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Palmer, AK
    Posts
    3,526
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by txpacer View Post
    I have a low level background noise in my Trig with the intercom off. The volume is independent of the radio volume, so I just turn down the headset volume, up on the radio, problem solved.
    Have you swapped headsets, brands/models? Noise only with engine running or not?

    Web
    Life's tough . . . wear a cup.

  14. #14
    txpacer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Iowa Park, TX
    Posts
    783
    Post Thanks / Like
    It hasn't been much of a problem, so I haven't spent much time chasing it.
    Quote Originally Posted by wireweinie View Post
    Have you swapped headsets, brands/models? Noise only with engine running or not?

    Web

  15. #15

    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Meanwhile,...
    Posts
    5,319
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by RaisedByWolves View Post
    Weird. Don’t have that with mine


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    You were there when we were working on it... It even persisted with a different head.
    Remember, These are the Good old Days!

  16. #16

    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Meanwhile,...
    Posts
    5,319
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by wireweinie View Post
    Have you swapped headsets, brands/models? Noise only with engine running or not?

    Web
    What made us go on the hunt was we even heard it with a set of DC's without noise cancelling.
    Remember, These are the Good old Days!

  17. #17
    wireweinie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Palmer, AK
    Posts
    3,526
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by OLDCROWE View Post
    You were there when we were working on it... It even persisted with a different head.
    ?

    Web
    Life's tough . . . wear a cup.

  18. #18
    Steve Pierce's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Graham, TX
    Posts
    20,190
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mine is quiet unless I monitor both frequencies and have my strobes on and I here a slight click. Was gonna ground the strobe power supply direct to the battery but haven't gotten around to it. I usually fly with Tony and we know where each other are until he gets down into the weeds with that cammo paint job but his wig wag LED landing lights show well.
    Steve Pierce

    Everybody is ignorant, only on different subjects.
    Will Rogers

  19. #19
    wireweinie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Palmer, AK
    Posts
    3,526
    Post Thanks / Like
    What strobes?

    Web
    Life's tough . . . wear a cup.

  20. #20
    Steve Pierce's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Graham, TX
    Posts
    20,190
    Post Thanks / Like
    Whelen with a single power pack on the battery shelf behind the baggage.
    Steve Pierce

    Everybody is ignorant, only on different subjects.
    Will Rogers

  21. #21
    wireweinie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Palmer, AK
    Posts
    3,526
    Post Thanks / Like
    Ouch. That's a tough system to soundproof. Separation is about the only way to minimize noise. Rarely able to eliminate it completely.

    The noise is usually generated from the leads from the box to the tubes and if it's the original grey stuff, not shielded well.

    Web
    Life's tough . . . wear a cup.

  22. #22
    Steve Pierce's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Graham, TX
    Posts
    20,190
    Post Thanks / Like
    I should just $it can it and go on a diet so I can get my EW w/pilot down around Tom's.
    Steve Pierce

    Everybody is ignorant, only on different subjects.
    Will Rogers

  23. #23

    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Meanwhile,...
    Posts
    5,319
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by wireweinie View Post
    ?

    Web
    Steve had a new uninstalled unit that we swapped mine with.
    Remember, These are the Good old Days!

  24. #24
    wireweinie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Palmer, AK
    Posts
    3,526
    Post Thanks / Like
    But the head just has the controls. The R/T unit is the part that puts out the power.

    Web
    Life's tough . . . wear a cup.

  25. #25
    Steve Pierce's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Graham, TX
    Posts
    20,190
    Post Thanks / Like
    Swapped the whole enchilada.
    Steve Pierce

    Everybody is ignorant, only on different subjects.
    Will Rogers
    Thanks wireweinie thanked for this post

  26. #26
    RaisedByWolves's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    4,211
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by OLDCROWE View Post
    You were there when we were working on it... It even persisted with a different head.
    Guess I should turn mine on once and awhile.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Likes OLDCROWE liked this post

  27. #27

    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Location
    Canyon, tx
    Posts
    646
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by RaisedByWolves View Post
    Guess I should turn mine on once and awhile.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    .....or take it out
    Likes RaisedByWolves liked this post

  28. #28
    fancypants's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    IL
    Posts
    385
    Post Thanks / Like
    Is it about a 1 cycle per second ticking noise? When you push a button or twist one of the selector knobs on the Trig control head, does the ticking cycle start over, or tick faster for a short while? If so, I bet it's the same noise I was trying to track down in my install.

    With absolutely nothing else connected anywhere in the plane - electrical system rewired from scratch, using the Trig internal intercom - I heard a ticking noise, about 1 cycle per second on the output of the Trig. After some experimentation, I found I could get the ticking to change by fiddling with the buttons and knobs. This suggested to me that it was something to do with the interface between the control head and the radio. I then discovered I could get it to stop entirely by disconnecting one of the TMAP lines going between the control head and the radio unit. According to one of their install documents, TMAP is the RS485-based serial protocol the control head and radio unit use to communicate. My guess is that there is a 1 Hz update/polling clock as part of the system design, and there's a design flaw somewhere that's allowing the serial data communication itself or that clock signal to leak into the intercom audio path.

    So, what to do about it? I seem to remember trying various shielding options for the TMAP lines, but that didn't do anything. Then I found some references to firmware updates for noisy radios on their website, so I sent the control head and radio to Mid-Continent (Trig's US service center) and had them update both. I think this was covered under warranty, but probably had to pay shipping both ways. I can't remember if the updates made a noticeable difference, but I know it didn't make it any worse.

    Finally I tweaked levels on the radio/intercom and headset so that the noise was minimized, just as txpacer suggests above. It's probably still there if I try to hear it, but it's not too noticeable with the engine running. I put on about 150 hours since May and I haven't given it much thought since then.

    Curious to know if others can reproduce the change in behavior with the knob twisting and button pushes.

  29. #29
    wireweinie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Palmer, AK
    Posts
    3,526
    Post Thanks / Like
    TMAP A and B lines flip flopped?

    Web
    Life's tough . . . wear a cup.

  30. #30
    Bearhawk Builder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    In the woods
    Posts
    747
    Post Thanks / Like
    Did you twist the TMAP wires?

  31. #31
    fancypants's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    IL
    Posts
    385
    Post Thanks / Like
    TMAP wires in my install were shielded twisted tefzel, probably less than a 12 inch run. I'm fairly certain they are connected where they should be.
    Likes JeffP liked this post

  32. #32
    Mauleguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    738
    Post Thanks / Like
    I went flying today and pulled the transponder breaker and the background tic went away. So what do I need to do to fix the problem.

  33. #33
    wireweinie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Palmer, AK
    Posts
    3,526
    Post Thanks / Like
    Separate your coax cables. Make sure you have a coax made from RG-400 cable and that the cable ends are secure/properly installed. Is your transponder antenna on the belly and on a metal panel? Do the transponder and com/intercom share a ground stud? If so, temporarily remove the transponder ground and connect it as close to the battery ground as possible.

    Web
    Life's tough . . . wear a cup.
    Thanks Mauleguy thanked for this post

  34. #34
    Mauleguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    738
    Post Thanks / Like
    I know for sure they share the same ground stud. The transponder antenna is on the belly, I used the boot cowl as my metal panel. I think I used the RG-400 for my com but RG-58 for transponder. It might be the opposite can't remember now without looking.
    Good to know what I need to look at first. The cables may cross each other under the panel going to the remote units mounted.

  35. #35
    aeroergosum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    North Granby, CT
    Posts
    9
    Post Thanks / Like
    I used RG-400 for both the TY91 Com and TT22 Transponder. Comm antenna located at top left wing root fairing, transponder antenna lower Cowl. TN70 WASS GPS antenna is at top right wing root fairing. I added a field of tabs to centralize all the grounds and ran a 6GA from the tab plate to the battery ground. To increase the ground field of the Com antenna I used 3M 1245 3/4" copper foil tape between the fuel cover panel seams with the wing root fairings and my metal top deck. Probably overkill but all my little noises vanished.

Similar Threads

  1. Trig T22
    By The Kid in forum All Things Electrical
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-07-2020, 06:53 AM
  2. Trig TY 91 Comm Radio ??
    By supercub in forum Cafe Supercub
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 08-17-2019, 09:44 AM
  3. Trig TXP and ADS-B STC for PA-18
    By AirmasterC165 in forum Products, Purchases, Reviews & Prices
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 11-20-2017, 07:39 AM
  4. Trig transponder
    By geoaspen in forum Cafe Supercub
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-31-2011, 11:25 PM
  5. Trig Transponders
    By dalec in forum Products, Purchases, Reviews & Prices
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 04-28-2010, 07:04 PM

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •