• If You Are Having Trouble Logging In with Your Old Username and Password, Please use this Forgot Your Password link to get re-established.
  • Hey! Be sure to login or register!

Widebody Super Cub Project

mrunia

Meridian, ID
About me
My name is Max Runia, I'm from Meridian Idaho, 27 years old. I'm not a pilot yet so I'll be pursuing my PPL + tailwheel. I'm a senior software engineer.

About my project
- I purchased the fuselage, empennage, and landing gear tubing kits from VR3 Engineering. The tubes are pre-bent and coped ready for jigging and welding.
- The wing kit is from Javron, it's the squared off wings with 24 gal tanks purchased from another member here. Hopefully be getting those in the next few weeks.
- engine, avionics, covering, etc,. is still undecided.

Open questions (to start)
- Left side door - what are the pros and cons?
- Where to keep a build log - I have an EAA account and started a build log over there, is there a better way / place to log my build?

Here are some photos from me jigging and tacking the vertical stabilizer and rudder
IMG_20200912_163150.jpgIMG_20200912_182835.jpgIMG_20200912_220621.jpgIMG_20200926_164306.jpg

Attachments

• IMG_20200912_163150.jpg
    IMG_20200912_163150.jpg
    93.4 KB · Views: 262
  • IMG_20200912_182835.jpg
    IMG_20200912_182835.jpg
    51.7 KB · Views: 246
  • IMG_20200912_220621.jpg
    IMG_20200912_220621.jpg
    58 KB · Views: 242
  • IMG_20200926_164306.jpg
    IMG_20200926_164306.jpg
    50.7 KB · Views: 275
I didn't know software engineers could weld! ;-) Looks like a great project. The local EAA chapter is active and meets at the Nampa airport if you were so inclined.