• If You Are Having Trouble Logging In with Your Old Username and Password, Please use this Forgot Your Password link to get re-established.
  • Hey! Be sure to login or register!

Phillips 66 X/C SAE 20W50 Use in Honda CRF450L motor?

8GCBC

Oahu
Hello Engine Gurus,

Any guidance on running Aviation Motor oil(s) (i.e. Phillips X/C) in a Honda and/or Yamaha motorcycle/ATV? Finding SJ oil on the road isn’t easy. I have not used it but, it sure would be convenient not to stock several types of oil.

Also, would seem to work well for the drive chain?

Note:

Very satisfied using Phillips 66 X/C SAE 20W50 in Lycoming O540s & 0360s
698154FF-E2BB-4C84-9F85-1EE1779EA69A.jpg

Thank you!

Attachments

• 698154FF-E2BB-4C84-9F85-1EE1779EA69A.jpg
    698154FF-E2BB-4C84-9F85-1EE1779EA69A.jpg
    91 KB · Views: 230
I've been using Aeroshell and Phillips multi grade oil for 20 years in everything I have thats air cooled. Harley, lawnmower.......
Once you change the oil running aircraft oil and see that it drains out like oil and not water like Automotive oil you'll never go back. And it's cheaper, I run it for 100hrs

Glenn

I've been using Aeroshell and Phillips multi grade oil for 20 years in everything I have thats air cooled. Harley, lawnmower.......
Once you change the oil running aircraft oil and see that it drains out like oil and not water like Automotive oil you'll never go back.

Glenn

Hi Glenn,

Thank you. I believe you made a good decision. I know it’s expensive but, also is stocking several types of oil (and Honda SJ is hard to get).

99% of Auto Oil (street) is formulated to be “Energy Conserving”. Honda wants SJ (non-energy conserving”) not SN (energy conserving) because of the gearbox using the same lubricant.

My conclusion: If “energy conservation” was high on my list, I certainly would not fly aircraft. Would be better to get back into mountain biking! Haha.

I appreciate the guidance,
Ted

Haha!