• If You Are Having Trouble Logging In with Your Old Username and Password, Please use this Forgot Your Password link to get re-established.
  • Hey! Be sure to login or register!

Soooo, new PA-18, prop strike

ExConPilot

Oregon
I have been flying for 45 years, 747's to champs. 34,000 hours. Bought Cubcrafters PA-18-180.... did not realise how forward the CG was empty... hit the brakes, bagged the prop, now a new prop and OH engine later, flying again. Seems the Cubcrafters first 5 "Top Cubs" were very forward CG. I placed 60 # sand in tail, better. Still, when approaching at 50, no flare left, have to add power. Can approach 45, but have to add a lot of power. Told gap seals help, kit on the way.... what has been the experience for those with or without the gap seals? Also, this is a PA-18 - 180 Cubcrafters .... 180 HP with fixed Sensenich... lots of weight forward, add to that more incidence, and elevator stalls early... would like to land slow without a quick stab of power, what say you?????

Where is your trim??? Trim for touchdown airspeed on approach, I normally land with full nose up trim 14/1600 rpm to help prevent the situation you discribe. Landing like this you will have forward stick pressure on approach, not back pressure. Takes a while to get used to but now you horizontal stabilizer is helping hold the tail down and not fighting the elevator.
DENNY

You need Mark's ThrustLine mod. Also add VG's (Micro) to solve that early tail stall condition.
I had a widebody PA-18 with a O-360/180hp. It had the CC elevator and rudder gap seals. Worth the money. Good luck!
Lou

Where is your trim??? Trim for touchdown airspeed on approach, I normally land with full nose up trim 14/1600 rpm to help prevent the situation you discribe. Landing like this you will have forward stick pressure on approach, not back pressure. Takes a while to get used to but now you horizontal stabilizer is helping hold the tail down and not fighting the elevator.
DENNY