Results 1 to 20 of 20

Thread: Troubleshooting a strobe

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Location
    COLLEGE STATION, TX
    Posts
    35
    Post Thanks / Like

    Troubleshooting a strobe

    1. Can you help me identify this strobe model number?

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_5361.jpg 
Views:	42 
Size:	400.7 KB 
ID:	48072Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_5360.jpg 
Views:	40 
Size:	421.1 KB 
ID:	48073

    2. Short of swapping the bulb side to side (I may drop it and then need 2 bulbs, lol) is there any way to troubleshoot the power supply? Assuming I have voltage and ground to the supply but I will confirm.

  2. #2

    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Southern NH
    Posts
    564
    Post Thanks / Like
    Let me know how you make out, I think I have a couple of those flash tubes and a power supply from when I switched to LED’s..
    Likes mike mcs repair liked this post

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Location
    COLLEGE STATION, TX
    Posts
    35
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by mam90 View Post
    Let me know how you make out, I think I have a couple of those flash tubes and a power supply from when I switched to LED’s..
    I wouldn't mind having spares. How much do you want for them?

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Southern NH
    Posts
    564
    Post Thanks / Like
    Let me check the part numbers tomorrow and make sure they’re what you need. Just the freight charge and I’ll be happy to send them to a good home.

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Location
    COLLEGE STATION, TX
    Posts
    35
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by mam90 View Post
    Let me check the part numbers tomorrow and make sure they’re what you need. Just the freight charge and I’ll be happy to send them to a good home.
    That is very kind of you. I can even send a UPS prepaid label. I will check my numbers as well and get back to you.
    Thanks mam90 thanked for this post

  6. #6
    www.SkupTech.com mike mcs repair's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    chugiak AK
    Posts
    10,896
    Post Thanks / Like
    switch to LED's... less weight/no power supply...

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Nebraska
    Posts
    34
    Post Thanks / Like
    Looks like the same setup I'm currently troubleshooting. Looks a bit like a Whelen A427 bulb. If you pull the bulb (careful not to drop that $80 lens cover) it'll have the part number on the back side. If I can do this right, here's a link to a troubleshooting guide. Hope it helps.
    http://www.iaevt.org/pdf/strobetroubleshootingguide.pdf

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Location
    COLLEGE STATION, TX
    Posts
    35
    Post Thanks / Like
    Any idea what LED kits would fit? Not sure where to start.

  9. #9
    wireweinie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Palmer, AK
    Posts
    2,975
    Post Thanks / Like
    For the strobe: locate the power supply. If it is the type where all strobes connect to one supply, unplug all strobes that still function. Then turn on the strobe system and listen for a 'pop and whine' from the power supply. If you hear a strong pop/whine, it's usually the strobe. No noise = bad power supply. Same for the strobes system that operates with one power supply for each strobe, just nothing to unplug first. Like it or not, plugging in a known good strobe tube is usually the only way to verify issues.

    And, as stated above, the best, long term, solution is to remove the existing navs and strobes and install LED nav/strobe units. Cheaper to maintain, smaller wires to power, less weight, and less noise in the headsets.

    Web
    Life's tough . . . wear a cup.

  10. #10
    wireweinie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Palmer, AK
    Posts
    2,975
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by sdischer View Post
    Any idea what LED kits would fit? Not sure where to start.
    Most all will fit. Some with minor modifications. Look at the Orion 650 or the Aveo units to start with.

    Web
    Life's tough . . . wear a cup.

  11. #11
    hotrod180's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Port Townsend, WA
    Posts
    3,042
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by sdischer View Post
    Can you help me identify this strobe model number? .....
    One central power pack, or a powerpack in each wingtip?
    Cessna Skywagon-- accept no substitute!

  12. #12

    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Location
    COLLEGE STATION, TX
    Posts
    35
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by wireweinie View Post
    For the strobe: locate the power supply. If it is the type where all strobes connect to one supply, unplug all strobes that still function. Then turn on the strobe system and listen for a 'pop and whine' from the power supply. If you hear a strong pop/whine, it's usually the strobe. No noise = bad power supply. Same for the strobes system that operates with one power supply for each strobe, just nothing to unplug first. Like it or not, plugging in a known good strobe tube is usually the only way to verify issues.

    And, as stated above, the best, long term, solution is to remove the existing navs and strobes and install LED nav/strobe units. Cheaper to maintain, smaller wires to power, less weight, and less noise in the headsets.

    Web
    silly question but does anyone know where the power supply is? I was assuming inside the wing with a convenient inspection plate but having pulled the inspection covers I do not see it.

  13. #13
    wireweinie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Palmer, AK
    Posts
    2,975
    Post Thanks / Like
    It could be anywhere. Look for the big gray cables and follow them. Do you know if you have the single power supply for all, or the power supply for each strobe? Single power supply is usually in the baggage area. The individual power supplies are usually within a couple of feet of the strobe.

    Web
    Life's tough . . . wear a cup.

  14. #14
    wireweinie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Palmer, AK
    Posts
    2,975
    Post Thanks / Like
    In a quiet hanger, turn on the battery and the strobes. If the power supply(ies) work at all, you'll hear them. Locate them by sound.

    Web
    Life's tough . . . wear a cup.

  15. #15

    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Southern NH
    Posts
    564
    Post Thanks / Like
    Sdischer, here’s what I’ve got. Let me know if you want any, or all.

    Attachment 48088
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	1EB7B516-F068-4D82-AABC-69F5179634AD.jpeg 
Views:	13 
Size:	136.4 KB 
ID:	48091   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	99D96790-F9B8-437A-AC48-D6BBAAC1B660.jpeg 
Views:	18 
Size:	179.3 KB 
ID:	48090   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	13B62D37-6EEB-46EC-BC2A-9F361EFE7758.jpeg 
Views:	14 
Size:	137.9 KB 
ID:	48092  

  16. #16

    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Southern NH
    Posts
    564
    Post Thanks / Like
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	2C520EBF-CB42-4333-A0C5-5B69CB7AEDBC.jpeg 
Views:	19 
Size:	162.3 KB 
ID:	48093

  17. #17

    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Location
    COLLEGE STATION, TX
    Posts
    35
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by mam90 View Post
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	2C520EBF-CB42-4333-A0C5-5B69CB7AEDBC.jpeg 
Views:	19 
Size:	162.3 KB 
ID:	48093
    Yes sir I will take it all. I can send a UPS label to you on Monday via PDF, you print it out and place on the box. I can arrange a pickup or you can drop it at a UPS store. What is your email address for the label? Also thank you very much, this is very kind of you and will keep me working for a few more years until I am ready to upgrade to LED's.

  18. #18

    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Southern NH
    Posts
    564
    Post Thanks / Like
    mam90@comcast.net

    There’s a UPS store close by, I can drop it off. Glad it will help.
    Likes Scooter7779h liked this post

  19. #19

    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Location
    COLLEGE STATION, TX
    Posts
    35
    Post Thanks / Like
    After way too much consternation and hand wringing, I decided to bite the bullet and buy the LED's. Thank you again for the offer, maybe someone else can use them.

  20. #20

    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Southern NH
    Posts
    564
    Post Thanks / Like
    No problem, you won’t be sorry with your decision. If anyone else is in need let me know.

Similar Threads

  1. Troubleshooting: No power
    By flylow in forum All Things Electrical
    Replies: 48
    Last Post: 01-10-2019, 10:06 PM
  2. New Cylinder issue troubleshooting
    By scout88305 in forum Cafe Supercub
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 06-12-2007, 11:16 AM
  3. Strobelight troubleshooting
    By superbear in forum Experimental Cubs
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-05-2005, 01:27 AM
  4. Electrical system troubleshooting
    By CubCouper in forum Modifications
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 12-23-2002, 12:49 AM

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •