• If You Are Having Trouble Logging In with Your Old Username and Password, Please use this Forgot Your Password link to get re-established.
  • Hey! Be sure to login or register!

500 Hour TT Commercial Pilot: What it takes to fly in Alaska

ChrisN2675V

Spokane, WA
Hello,

My name is Chris and I am a commercial pilot from Spokane, WA. I am the proud owner of a 1948 Cessna 170 ragwing that I restored a few years back. After college, I worked for Boeing in Seattle as a project manager before finally deciding to change my career to full time aviation. I have 535 hours TT a commercial single, commercial multi, CFI, and CFII with about 350 hours of tailwheel, 56 hours of instrument (in the airplane), with my complex, and high performance endorsements. As I have recently learned, the best way to get a job in Alaska is to BE THERE! Emails, Applications, and phone calls do not compare to walking through the front door with a resume in hand and a story ready to be told.

With this being said, I am coming to Anchorage this month to walk into as many doors as I can and to tell my story to whoever has the time (or the patience) to listen! I would LOVE to hear some advice from this forum on places I should visit or people to talk to. I am open to just about any kind of flying (135 SIC, VFR PIC, Cargo, Mail, Tour Pilot etc.)

Here are some of the places that I have my application, cover letter etc. into already...

1. Grant Aviation
2. Ravn Connect (Haugeland Aviation)
3. Alaska Central Express
4. Wrangell Mountain Air
5. Copper Valley Air Service

With the research I've conducted so far, these are some of the only businesses that I've found that hire Pilots with 500 hours or less! Would love to hear other ideas :)

Chris Hartis
N2675V | KSFF

Chris and Betsie.jpg

Attachments

• Chris and Betsie.jpg
    Chris and Betsie.jpg
    36.7 KB · Views: 270
Hello,