Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 41 to 80 of 106

Thread: Anyone have autopilot in their cub?

  1. #41

    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    RanchAero Grand Vista, Brooksville
    Posts
    2,667
    Post Thanks / Like

    Dynon Autopilot

    Quote Originally Posted by Mr. Ed View Post
    I plan to put one in the cub I’m building now. It will be going back and forth between WA and AK every summer.......hopefully. AP should provide a little relief on those trips.

    Not many chimed in about Dynon. Anybody out there have experience with their autopilot. I plan to put Dynon glass in and use their servos. Garmin makes good glass stuff but I’ve got a burr under my saddle about Garmin and don’t want to give them my business. I haven’t purchased any avionics yet but will probably do so before April. So, if anybody can provide a compelling argument against Dynon and for another manufacturer your input would be appreciated. Also, any photos of servo installation would be groovy.

    Thanks,

    Mr. Ed
    I used the D10A as my EFIS and two 52's servos. 1500 hours later still going strong. I have photos of the install if anyone needs them. Similar to those already posted. Lou's photos helped me back in the day, 2010. I never did install an autopilot consul and once I got used to pushing buttons on the D10A I do it without thinking. Makes the 8 hour days from Florida to Idaho a breeze. Be sure to couple it with a GPS. I wouldn't fly one with out it.
    Likes Farmboy, FdxLou liked this post

  2. #42
    Jlee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Location
    Brainerd Mn
    Posts
    13
    Post Thanks / Like
    Installing the Garmin G3X with Autopilot in my Javron, Is there a source for purchasing the pitch servo bridle cable assembly and cable clamps? I have the capstan kit that came with the servo, just can't seem to find where to get the bridle cable and clamps.
    Thanks

  3. #43
    mike mcs repair's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    chugiak AK
    Posts
    11,773
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Jlee View Post
    Installing the Garmin G3X with Autopilot in my Javron, Is there a source for purchasing the pitch servo bridle cable assembly and cable clamps? I have the capstan kit that came with the servo, just can't seem to find where to get the bridle cable and clamps.
    Thanks
    Garmin. Part 6 for clamps

    They probably have cable also, anyone with a Cessna style Seaver and proper size does can make cables for you.(we have a couple shops here on field with the equipment, maybe right size dies too) Spruce sells the parts


    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_6453.JPG 
Views:	183 
Size:	109.4 KB 
ID:	46509

    Simpler to just use push rods like we did on the wildcat cub.



    Sent from my iPhone using SuperCub.Org mobile app
    Last edited by mike mcs repair; 01-16-2020 at 07:11 PM.
    Likes stewartb liked this post

  4. #44

    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Vermont
    Posts
    417
    Post Thanks / Like
    I have a Dynon D180 driving 2 52's. The Dynon servos have software adjustable breakaway clutches, but they don't work when powered off. You always feel the cogging of the stepper motors. This worried me but I don't notice it in the air.
    What's a go-around?
    Likes mike mcs repair liked this post

  5. #45
    skysigns's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    seattle wa 98053
    Posts
    412
    Post Thanks / Like
    dose any one have pic of on installed in a pa18

  6. #46
    hotrod180's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Port Townsend, WA
    Posts
    4,041
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by FdxLou View Post
    ...... I also put a certified TruTrak in my C-180 recently. .....
    I know this is a 2-1/2 year old post, but can you tell me more about this?

    A friend of mine bought an (experimental?) TruTrak autopilot several years ago that he was hoping to eventually put into his pacer.
    Never did it.
    It's a single-axis model, with (IMHO) a very slick servo installation--
    it mounts on the control column and has a sprocket which engages the chains which connect to the aileron cables.
    I'd like to have something similar in my C180.
    Cessna Skywagon-- accept no substitute!
    Likes soyAnarchisto liked this post

  7. #47
    FdxLou's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Canton, GA
    Posts
    1,929
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by hotrod180 View Post
    I know this is a 2-1/2 year old post, but can you tell me more about this?

    A friend of mine bought an (experimental?) TruTrak autopilot several years ago that he was hoping to eventually put into his pacer.
    Never did it.
    It's a single-axis model, with (IMHO) a very slick servo installation--
    it mounts on the control column and has a sprocket which engages the chains which connect to the aileron cables.
    I'd like to have something similar in my C180.
    Hotrod
    Unless you have an experimental 180 (doubtful) you can’t use your friends old TruTrak. Best bang for the buck (4k) is the AeroCruze 100. Formerly TruTrak Vizion. Love mine. While not as feature rich as the Garmin GFC 500 (3+ times the price) it gets the job done.
    PM me if you need more.
    Lou
    Thanks hotrod180 thanked for this post
    Likes soyAnarchisto liked this post

  8. #48
    Grand Pooh Bah soyAnarchisto's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Boulder, CO
    Posts
    740
    Post Thanks / Like
    I think the aerocruze 100 is currently just shy of 6k. How does it compare to the GFC 500 in terms of weight of the installation, complexity/cost of the servos, and the smoothness of functionality. I'm interested in both Cessna 180 (my current ship) as well as a future build of an experimental pa-18.

    https://sarasotaavionics.com/aerocru...ma-vizion-flat

    Quote Originally Posted by FdxLou View Post
    Hotrod
    Unless you have an experimental 180 (doubtful) you can’t use your friends old TruTrak. Best bang for the buck (4k) is the AeroCruze 100. Formerly TruTrak Vizion. Love mine. While not as feature rich as the Garmin GFC 500 (3+ times the price) it gets the job done.
    PM me if you need more.
    Lou

  9. #49
    FdxLou's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Canton, GA
    Posts
    1,929
    Post Thanks / Like
    My bad. Meant to say 5k. Looks like prices have gone up. GFC 500 is 8-10k plus at least a G5 to drive it. Figure 16-20k installed. It’s the best AP on the market imho.
    will you be at JC?
    Lou
    Likes mixer liked this post

  10. #50

    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    RanchAero Grand Vista, Brooksville
    Posts
    2,667
    Post Thanks / Like
    I do. Experimental Dynon D10A much like Lou's
    send me a pm with your email but here are some for the world to see.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Super Cub Dynon Autopilot Roll Under seat view.JPG 
Views:	97 
Size:	185.2 KB 
ID:	61237   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Super Cub Dynon Autopilot Roll 52LB Seat view.JPG 
Views:	80 
Size:	205.3 KB 
ID:	61238   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Super Cub Dynon Autopilot Pitch Servo.JPG 
Views:	83 
Size:	172.7 KB 
ID:	61239   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Super Cub Dynon Autopilot pitch servo , rudder trim servo.JPG 
Views:	89 
Size:	193.0 KB 
ID:	61240   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Super Cub Dynon Autopilot installaion  (12).JPG 
Views:	83 
Size:	212.8 KB 
ID:	61241  

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Super Cub Dynon Autopilot  Pitch Roll 52lb under baggage.JPG 
Views:	81 
Size:	165.6 KB 
ID:	61242   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Super Cub Dynon 52 Roll Servo.JPG 
Views:	80 
Size:	247.8 KB 
ID:	61243  
    Last edited by Fortysix12; 05-26-2022 at 01:40 PM.

  11. #51

    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Posts
    7,952
    Post Thanks / Like
    If you have the exp G3X, adding 2 GSA28 servos is $1600.00 and the G3X runs it with no other required equipment. Kind of a no brainer to add it.

    My servos use push rods and drive the stick. I wasn’t sure I’d like one between my feet but I don’t even know it’s there.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	CE990620-4B9A-4807-962E-5BACAC614EA5.jpg 
Views:	110 
Size:	153.3 KB 
ID:	61244  
    Last edited by stewartb; 05-26-2022 at 02:03 PM.
    Thanks soyAnarchisto thanked for this post

  12. #52
    Grand Pooh Bah soyAnarchisto's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Boulder, CO
    Posts
    740
    Post Thanks / Like
    I won't be at JC, but I'll be at the breaks. Hope to see you there, and hope you are well.

    GFC 500 starts at $7k. The other options, such as pitch trim and yaw damper may not interest everyone and the required G5 or PFD is something most of us will want or already have planned so I'm trying to separate out the apples to apples comparison to add the auto-pilot on top of a panel upgrade which will already include either dual G5's, dual Gi275s, or a G3x/G500.

    The aerocruze is standalone. If the G500 is 12-16k to install (subtracting cost of G5)? Is the labor to install a GFC500 really that much more than the labor to install an aerocruze 100?

    On paper it looks like 6k for the B/K and 7k for the GC500 right now (5/26/2022). Given 1k difference I don't see the benefit of the aerocruze especially if you are already putting a bunch of other garmin stuff in. Trying to understand where the estimate of 2-3X the cost to install Garmin comes from.

    Quote Originally Posted by FdxLou View Post
    My bad. Meant to say 5k. Looks like prices have gone up. GFC 500 is 8-10k plus at least a G5 to drive it. Figure 16-20k installed. It’s the best AP on the market imho.
    will you be at JC?
    Lou

  13. #53
    Farmboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Glens Falls, NY & Middlebury, VT
    Posts
    3,015
    Post Thanks / Like
    I’m biased as I work for a Garmin dealer. But we do a lot of GFC500 installs, and S-TEC as well. The engineering from Garmin is far superior for installs, and as a pilot I will say as Lou mentioned, the digital autopilot is pretty amazing after flying something else.
    I didn’t know how valuable it was in a cub until I started flying ones that had it, and I discovered the error of my mindset.

    A 180 in the shop right now for a 500 3-axis install -
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_0130.JPG 
Views:	64 
Size:	139.1 KB 
ID:	61247
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_0131.JPG 
Views:	66 
Size:	141.7 KB 
ID:	61248


    Transmitted from my FlightPhone on fingers…
    Likes soyAnarchisto liked this post

  14. #54
    Steve Pierce's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Graham, TX
    Posts
    22,349
    Post Thanks / Like
    My buddy who works in a local avionics shop said they will not install the former TruTrak autopilots. He said they had issues with every one of them since Bendix King bought them.
    Steve Pierce

    Everybody is ignorant, only on different subjects.
    Will Rogers
    Thanks soyAnarchisto thanked for this post

  15. #55
    skywagon8a's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    SE Mass
    Posts
    12,684
    Post Thanks / Like
    I had both S-TEC and then Trutrak in my 185 for pitch control.
    The S-TEC with it's pressure sensing and accelerometer pitch control was a big . A worthless piece of ballast.
    The TruTrak was a big . Worked flawlessly. Very smooth.
    N1PA
    Likes RVBottomly liked this post

  16. #56
    Farmboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Glens Falls, NY & Middlebury, VT
    Posts
    3,015
    Post Thanks / Like
    I have no flight time behind an S-TEC but from a technicians point of view they suck pond water, both during the install and troubleshooting after the fact. We just installed one in a Cheyenne since Garmin doesn’t have one for it, and while they said it flew fine the install required calls to customer support to ask which bolts to leave out of their bracket over a lightening hole and which cable to trim to use. (Instructions say “attach to trim cable”…. Well, there is 4….)

    Technical drawing 1 back from engineering showing precise fastener layout. Yes we are putting this in the service manual. 🤣
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Image1653673099.895616.jpg 
Views:	55 
Size:	227.8 KB 
ID:	61252

    4 trim cables. After a day of their instructions back in engineering review it was determined to use “the green one”.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Image1653673172.309665.jpg 
Views:	68 
Size:	143.9 KB 
ID:	61253



    Transmitted from my FlightPhone on fingers…
    Likes soyAnarchisto liked this post

  17. #57

    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    RanchAero Grand Vista, Brooksville
    Posts
    2,667
    Post Thanks / Like
    Stewart,

    I like your install on your 12. Hadn't thought of that angle which I think could work for the 18 as well. Surprised you haven't fabricated an escutcheon of some sort to protect and conceal the install. Seems you know your way around carbon fiber.

  18. #58
    Farmboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Glens Falls, NY & Middlebury, VT
    Posts
    3,015
    Post Thanks / Like
    A number of exp builders have added the roll servo under the front seat like Stewart did. Another option is to put it in the wing, depending on wing construction and opening sizes.

    Metal wings are easier of course. Here’s a work in progress for a direct linkage but bridle cables work very well too.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_0125.JPG 
Views:	56 
Size:	91.2 KB 
ID:	61257


    Transmitted from my FlightPhone on fingers…

  19. #59
    skywagon8a's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    SE Mass
    Posts
    12,684
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Farmboy View Post
    A number of exp builders have added the roll servo under the front seat like Stewart did. Another option is to put it in the wing, depending on wing construction and opening sizes.

    Metal wings are easier of course. Here’s a work in progress for a direct linkage but bridle cables work very well too.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_0125.JPG 
Views:	56 
Size:	91.2 KB 
ID:	61257


    Transmitted from my FlightPhone on fingers…
    Be certain to have an access panel to be able to remove that servo at some time in the future. You never know when that time will come.

    What autopilot are you using?
    N1PA

  20. #60
    Farmboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Glens Falls, NY & Middlebury, VT
    Posts
    3,015
    Post Thanks / Like

    Anyone have autopilot in their cub?

    Big Access panels. GFC500

    Although in the 180 we have to drill out the inspection cover backing ring in the wing to fit the bracket through. Not bad though, just squeeze it back in after.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_0105.JPG 
Views:	58 
Size:	157.1 KB 
ID:	61258




    Transmitted from my FlightPhone on fingers…
    Thanks soyAnarchisto thanked for this post

  21. #61

    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Posts
    7,952
    Post Thanks / Like
    The cleanest roll servo install I’ve seen has a servo under the seat attached to the seat pedestal using a push rod to an arm clamped onto the torque tube. A longer arm would provide more power to be applied but the servo travel would dictate that. The popular pitch servo install is capstan type to an elevator cable in the aft section. Frankly I think that’s better than my install. More authority is available there than my push rod with a relatively short arm. Mine works for me but in turbulence I’d need to hand fly the pitch, and that sorta defeats some of the potential.

  22. #62
    frequent_flyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2021
    Location
    Arizona, USA
    Posts
    1,165
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by stewartb View Post
    The cleanest roll servo install I’ve seen has a servo under the seat attached to the seat pedestal using a push rod to an arm clamped onto the torque tube. A longer arm would provide more power to be applied but the servo travel would dictate that. The popular pitch servo install is capstan type to an elevator cable in the aft section.
    That sounds like the standard CubCrafters installation for the Garmin GSA 28 smart servos. Mine worked fine until the pitch bridle cable clamps slipped and the bridle cable wrapped in a knot around the pitch servo capstan. Installed a new bridle cable and better quality clamps and has been ok since. Ref SK SI004.

    https://cubcrafters.com/c/wp-content...004-Rev-NC.pdf

    With as delivered gains this AP works fine in still air. Give it a bit of turbulence and it grossly over-controls like a demented student pilot. Sure it holds altitude and heading, or NAV and Glide Path, but I can't tolerate that stick movement and turn it off. One day I'll try to optimize it for turbulence.
    Thanks soyAnarchisto, rjhamann thanked for this post

  23. #63
    Farmboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Glens Falls, NY & Middlebury, VT
    Posts
    3,015
    Post Thanks / Like
    There are a number of revised gains for the install in the CC, F/EX, /2 and /3. Fine tuning makes a difference.

    The servos under the pedestal seem to work well although can get crowded if you have Amphibs installed as well.

    Just make sure the pitch servo is aligned.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_0163.JPG 
Views:	129 
Size:	305.9 KB 
ID:	61259


    Transmitted from my FlightPhone on fingers…

  24. #64
    frequent_flyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2021
    Location
    Arizona, USA
    Posts
    1,165
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Farmboy View Post
    Just make sure the pitch servo is aligned.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_0163.JPG 
Views:	129 
Size:	305.9 KB 
ID:	61259
    That's horrible!
    Likes Farmboy, skywagon8a, soyAnarchisto liked this post

  25. #65
    Farmboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Glens Falls, NY & Middlebury, VT
    Posts
    3,015
    Post Thanks / Like
    I was quite surprised he got away with it like that for a few years.


    Sent from my iPhone using SuperCub.Org

  26. #66

    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Bellingen, NSW, Australia
    Posts
    763
    Post Thanks / Like
    Is there a certified AP for the PA18-150 yet?

  27. #67

    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    RanchAero Grand Vista, Brooksville
    Posts
    2,667
    Post Thanks / Like
    Check the older S-TEC's STC's

  28. #68

    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Norman wells, NT
    Posts
    117
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by stewartb View Post
    If you have the exp G3X, adding 2 GSA28 servos is $1600.00 and the G3X runs it with no other required equipment. Kind of a no brainer to add it.

    My servos use push rods and drive the stick. I wasn’t sure I’d like one between my feet but I don’t even know it’s there.
    That seems like simplest was to do it. Does it feel any heavier on the controls when flying by hand/autopilot disengaged?

  29. #69

    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Posts
    7,952
    Post Thanks / Like
    No, I don’t feel the servos at all when not energized.
    Thanks mixer thanked for this post
    Likes mixer, jrussl liked this post

  30. #70
    frequent_flyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2021
    Location
    Arizona, USA
    Posts
    1,165
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by farm_boy252 View Post
    Does it feel any heavier on the controls when flying by hand/autopilot disengaged?
    The Garmin GSA 28 servos have essentially zero resistance to being back driven when not engaged. I suppose any linkage will have some resistance but I doubt it is detectable.

    One thing you should check is the worst case force required to overpower the engaged servos. I found that the force was unacceptably high with controls at full deflection but easily overpowered with stick close to center. I thought that was unsafe and reduced the maximum servo torque. Worse case scenario is an AP hardover that has driven controls to the stops and cannot be disconnected. Must be able to overpower the servos.

  31. #71
    wireweinie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Palmer, AK
    Posts
    4,839
    Post Thanks / Like
    This is auto pilot 101. You MUST be able to overcome an engaged servo. As frequent_flyer brought up, if an uncontrolled action happens (any movement of a control surface that you did not tell the auto pilot to do) the pilot has to be able to push the controls against the servo. Even if you are able to disengage the servos later, that first moment may require you to move the controls to keep from kissing the ground.

    Web
    Life's tough . . . wear a cup.

  32. #72

    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Jax Beach, Florida
    Posts
    174
    Post Thanks / Like
    Experimental Cubs may want to take a look at Levil Autopilot, for a total new approach. Carbon-fiber trim tabs are added to the elevator and aileron, and then can be driven thru Foreflight program, $3000 for the entire system. I would love to get some feedback from the SC group.


    https://shop.levil.com
    I spent most of my dough on booze, broads and boats and the rest just wasted ! - Elmore Leonard
    Likes Scott A liked this post

  33. #73

    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Posts
    7,952
    Post Thanks / Like
    It’s hard for me (Garmin autopilot owner) to imagine not being able to overpower the servos, and my plane has heavy controls so the servos are set accordingly. The gain is easy to adjust and test on the ground, and in the event that it’s uncomfortable, reduce it. The AP disconnect switch should be in an easy to reach place regardless.
    Likes mixer liked this post

  34. #74
    JWE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    NC30
    Posts
    219
    Post Thanks / Like
    And you should know how to easily pull the circuit breaker.

  35. #75
    Farmboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Glens Falls, NY & Middlebury, VT
    Posts
    3,015
    Post Thanks / Like
    A/P Disc button on stick. C/B #2. Head unit #3.


    Sent from my iPhone using SuperCub.Org

  36. #76

    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    RanchAero Grand Vista, Brooksville
    Posts
    2,667
    Post Thanks / Like
    Couple of notes about my experience with installing Experimental super cub servos. I had visited Airtronics, Billings MT, and observed the professional installation of a roll servo. One point that was made to me is that as a general rule is that the servo mounts are heavy duty ready for the maximum torque of the servo and hold it rock solid. This one had supports for all directions and was fabricated from .090 if not larger. The Dynon Servo is a stepper motor type and expect to feel the magnetic indexing when controlling the stick. At first it was concerning. Now I don't even think about it. The servos will send a signal to the D10A annunciating when they have been overpowered by human or flight conditions. Because I was the second Beta project for the Dynon system we started out with the smallest servos and progressively installed larger and larger servos. Even in the lightest of turbulence the small servos would light. FedEx Lou was the first Super Cub experimental Dynon install as I recall and he provided valuable installation information way back when.

  37. #77

    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Posts
    7,952
    Post Thanks / Like
    The servos don’t need to be any more powerful than necessary to control the airplane. If you can operate the controls, overpowering the servos should require only marginally higher effort, and only if the AP has gone wonky, which is unlikely.

    How the servos connect to the system should be considered. If I’m being honest I don’t think my installation is the best for pitch. My servo drives a rod to the bottom of the stick. To achieve full range we made a longer drive arm for the servo. Leverage puts the servo at a disadvantage. I don’t think the pilot overpowering it is any concern. I’m not sure the elevator wouldn’t overpower it in rough air, but haven’t found out in actual flight. I’d have to be out of trim to require much force so not a big concern. For a wing leveler on a normal day it works fine. Anyone else using a rod for the pitch servo? Where is it attached?
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	5279F2A7-DB8D-4E04-B1CF-E09AE5DFFCCD.jpeg 
Views:	31 
Size:	265.9 KB 
ID:	63764  
    Last edited by stewartb; 11-27-2022 at 12:34 PM.

  38. #78
    Bearhawk Builder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    In the woods
    Posts
    918
    Post Thanks / Like
    Different application but yes, a rod for pitch and roll. I've used this methodClick image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_1207 (2).jpg 
Views:	44 
Size:	113.0 KB 
ID:	63765 a couple times with good resultsClick image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_0083.jpg 
Views:	56 
Size:	238.6 KB 
ID:	63766

  39. #79
    kestrel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Southern NH
    Posts
    333
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Utah 12 Driver View Post
    Experimental Cubs may want to take a look at Levil Autopilot, for a total new approach. Carbon-fiber trim tabs are added to the elevator and aileron, and then can be driven thru Foreflight program, $3000 for the entire system. I would love to get some feedback from the SC group.


    https://shop.levil.com
    I can't comment on any experience with this system. I love the concept, but I'm not a fan of the implementation. It is a VFR only system run by a tablet instead of a wired in, "real system". The tabs look like they want to flutter, though anyone can choose to install better tabs. If it hooked up to a real EFIS instead of Forflight, I'd be interested.
    --
    Bearhawk, RV-4

  40. #80
    Steve Pierce's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Graham, TX
    Posts
    22,349
    Post Thanks / Like
    What about Notice Number NOTC2741 on the Garmin GFC 500 telling certified users to pull the breaker until Garmin comes up a with a fix.
    Garmin GFC 500 Autopilot Notice
    Notice Number: NOTC2741
    Garmin has identified an issue with GFC 500 autopilots with optional auto trim installed in certified, experimental and Light-Sport Aircraft, including certified installations installed with optional GSA 28 pitch trim in accordance with Garmin STC SA01866W. This issue may result in an uncommanded automatic trim runaway when the autopilot is first engaged. This condition could result in a sudden and significant deviation from the intended flight path.
    Garmin Service Alert 22109 Revision A requires operators of certified installations to pull and collar the autopilot circuit breaker and placard the autopilot as “inoperative” prior to further flight. Operators may contact a Garmin dealer regarding reactivation of the GFC 500 autopilot with the optional pitch trim configured off in accordance with recommended service bulletin 22110 Revision A.
    Garmin is working to fix this issue for certified installations in a future software update expected in Q4 2022.
    Garmin Service Bulletin 22112 Revision A requires operators of Experimental and Light-Sport Aircraft to update system software or disable the autopilot or trim control prior to further flight.
    Service Alert 22109 Rev A is available at:
    https://support.garmin.com/en-US/aviation/faq/mZwVwMogJ09ZLIPJgWTBJA
    The recommended Service Bulletin 22110 Rev A is available at:
    https://support.garmin.com/en-US/aviation/faq/s7SeFk9oh96I8qVfjtNbV8
    For non-certified aircraft, Service Bulletin 22112 Rev A is available at:
    https://support.garmin.com/en-US/aviation/faq/QFnVz92cFZ5AvovG4LF6l5
    If you have any questions or comments, contact the Wichita ACO Branch at:
    Phil Petty
    1801 Airport Rd.
    Wichita, KS 67209
    (316) 946-4139
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Garmin GFC 500.jpg 
Views:	19 
Size:	15.0 KB 
ID:	63807  
    Steve Pierce

    Everybody is ignorant, only on different subjects.
    Will Rogers

Similar Threads

  1. TruTrak Autopilot Now STC'd for 180, 182, 185
    By SJ in forum Cessna: C180/C182/C185
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-29-2019, 10:18 AM
  2. Autopilot?
    By barorg in forum Experimental Cubs
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-26-2010, 06:31 PM
  3. Autopilot STC
    By SJ in forum Modifications
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 06-03-2005, 02:42 PM

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •