Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Magneto switch ground

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Sep 2018
    Posts
    15
    Post Thanks / Like

    Magneto switch ground

    I have a1950 SC with an A7 mag switch. The ground lead to the switch does not have continuity to ground, The switch checks fine.
    Does the ground lead in the harness, ground at the mags? I tried continuity at the mags and airframe ground no luck.
    I assume the wire is broken between the switch and the mags.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    wireweinie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Palmer, AK
    Posts
    2,326
    Post Thanks / Like
    Check for continuity from the ground tab on the switch to the case of each mag. Shielded P-leads? What type of terminals at the mags? Any type of filters or feed through capacitors added into the P-leads?

    Web
    Life's tough . . . wear a cup.

  3. #3
    cruiser's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    South Glens Falls, NY
    Posts
    1,436
    Post Thanks / Like
    With the key in the off position does R and L on the back of the switch read Gnd?

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Sep 2018
    Posts
    15
    Post Thanks / Like
    Found ground contact on mag was not making good contact. Removed the switch and cleaned contacts and repainted.
    Thanks for the advice.

    Joe
    Thanks wireweinie thanked for this post
    Likes Hardtailjohn liked this post

Similar Threads

  1. magneto grounding
    By Jack Smith in forum Super Cub Sick Bay
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: 02-19-2017, 01:32 PM
  2. Magneto question
    By supercubdriveroregon in forum Cafe Supercub
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 01-08-2009, 01:43 PM

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •