Thread: Fluidyne Fli-lite Ski 3000 question

Post Thanks / Like

Fluidyne Fli-lite Ski 3000 question

I just recently bought a cub that came with some fli-lite 3000's. They seem to be in good shape and have all the fittings. They have a standard gear, breaks, hand pump, and wheels. Unfortunately no STC. I was just wondering what they are worth? I have been told straight ski's are the better route and probably the direction that I will go. Thanks for every ones help. I am new to all this and learning fast.

Post Thanks / Like
    Depending on who you talk to a STC may not be required (CAR 3). Straight skis do preform better but have limitations. If you have a year like this one still lots of snow above 1800 ft out to play in. You might want to ask around before you sell them.
    DENNY
    Likes skywagon8a liked this post

Post Thanks / Like
    You will love the fli-like 3000s.

They are approved on an 18. But you didn’t say what type of “Cub” you have.

Post Thanks / Like
    I himmed and hawed for a long time over the straight ski/wheel ski debate. Lots of pros and cons with any ski configuration. I am VERY happy with the Hydraulic wheel skis I settled on. Like a previous poster said they give you lots of versatility when there is no snow at your home airport.

Post Thanks / Like
    And the Fli Lites are arguably some of the best skis out there. I’d keep em, that spring ski flying is the BEST, but the home drome is bare ground.

MTV

Post Thanks / Like
    The STC was issued in the 1960's, was not issued aircraft specific at that time. I have a copy of the STC and all of the drawings. It was for PA-18, standard gear. It was used for my plane field approval on a PA-12 with extended gear as part of the approved data basis. They are great skis!

Quote Originally Posted by jake.kueber View Post