• If You Are Having Trouble Logging In with Your Old Username and Password, Please use this Forgot Your Password link to get re-established.
  • Hey! Be sure to login or register!

pa11 with a 0235lycon

mattpearson

Gentlemen,
I am pretty new to the experimental LSA pa11 crowd. I am trying to get educated on these.....the experimental part at least. Ran across one that an estate will be selling eventually, at first it just seemed like a re-done PA-11, but then I see the experimental sticker. Have not been able to look through the logs yet to understand anything about the aircraft as of this moment. (they haven't surfaced) Are there kits to make these? (haven't been able to come up with any) or are these generally re-built up PA11's that just go the experimental route. This particular one indicates on the registration that it's a 2006 Dowrick Charles Light Sport. Goggling that gets no place. (I am just guessing that's the guy that put this bird together?????
thanks for input.

If it's an R&D or exhibition experimental, there are some considerable restrictions on what you can legally do with the airplane.
And a 235 is a fair chunk of iron to hang on the nose of an 11, weight wise.

Could be a Wag-Aero Sport Trainer, or similar. Several of these have been built and some have been very nicely done. There was a local one I looked at a few years ago that was much nicer than any factory built one I have ever seen. It was in MN and then bought by a guy in Canada, but ever imported. Last I knew it was being kept in a hangar and not being flow

As already mentioned, the )-235 is a bit heavy for a PA-11 type. A friend has one on a factory PA-11 and regrets putting it on the plane (on floats). He told me the Cont. 90 was a much better performer on the plane.

If it's an R&D or exhibition experimental, there are some considerable restrictions on what you can legally do with the airplane.
And a 235 is a fair chunk of iron to hang on the nose of an 11, weight wise.