Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234
Results 121 to 147 of 147

Thread: General C180 questions.

  1. #121
    texmex's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Hanging Rock, Australia.
    Posts
    393
    Post Thanks / Like
    Talk about supply chain disruptions.

    A/Spruce tell me no 3" Scat hose in until June. I tried locally and they were out. It'll be getting cold where I am by then.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_0657.jpg 
Views:	81 
Size:	205.2 KB 
ID:	60821
    Attached Files Attached Files

  2. #122
    texmex's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Hanging Rock, Australia.
    Posts
    393
    Post Thanks / Like
    I snuck out yesterday before the Minister of Photography (and noise abatement procedures ) was home from work.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_4419 2.jpg 
Views:	85 
Size:	44.3 KB 
ID:	60822
    Likes TxAgfisher liked this post

  3. #123
    texmex's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Hanging Rock, Australia.
    Posts
    393
    Post Thanks / Like
    Would anyone have some suggestions as to where my electrical man would find some specifications on this T&B circuit breaker? It reads as a Klixon CA 2.

    It lives on top of the glovebox.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_0636.jpg 
Views:	67 
Size:	117.6 KB 
ID:	60823


    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_0635.jpg 
Views:	70 
Size:	211.4 KB 
ID:	60824

  4. #124
    behindpropellers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    NE Ohio
    Posts
    7,051
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by texmex View Post
    Would anyone have some suggestions as to where my electrical man would find some specifications on this T&B circuit breaker? It reads as a Klixon CA 2.

    It lives on top of the glovebox.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_0636.jpg 
Views:	67 
Size:	117.6 KB 
ID:	60823


    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_0635.jpg 
Views:	70 
Size:	211.4 KB 
ID:	60824
    That is a self resetting circuit breaker. Usually they are connected to the T&B and the stall horn.
    Likes texmex liked this post

  5. #125
    wireweinie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Palmer, AK
    Posts
    4,633
    Post Thanks / Like
    Throw it away. As above, it's a self resetting 2 amp breaker for the stall horn. They are not sealed in any way and are unreliable to the extreme. Replace it with a push pull type breaker for safety sake.

    Web
    Life's tough . . . wear a cup.
    Thanks soyAnarchisto thanked for this post
    Likes texmex liked this post

  6. #126
    texmex's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Hanging Rock, Australia.
    Posts
    393
    Post Thanks / Like
    Hi guys.

    I'm looking to purchase a set of 850 x 6 tyres. All right tires for you lot. Looking on A/Spruce I see the Goodyear are tubeless. I seem to remember the one's I had on the Cub had tubes.

    What's everybody's favourite 850 tyres?

    And while I'm in that general area the clear leading edge tap on the gear leg is in poor condition. Any do's or don'ts with the gear tape?

  7. #127
    hotrod180's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Port Townsend, WA
    Posts
    3,939
    Post Thanks / Like
    I like airtrac 850x6's, & have ran them on three different airplanes now.
    I've toyed with the idea of running the 850x6 Dessers,
    but I'm not sure if they are robust enough for a heavy-ish airplane like a skywagon.
    Two advantages that I can see:
    1) lighter weight
    2) softer with only 4 plys, so maybe cushier at the same (safe) pressure than the airtracs.
    FWIW I run my 850s at 20 psi.
    Cessna Skywagon-- accept no substitute!

  8. #128
    frequent_flyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2021
    Location
    Arizona, USA
    Posts
    942
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by texmex View Post
    What's everybody's favourite 850 tyres?
    I ran Goodyear 8.50 x 6 tyres on my FX-3 for a while. They need tubes unless you have wheels designed for tubeless tyres.

  9. #129
    texmex's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Hanging Rock, Australia.
    Posts
    393
    Post Thanks / Like
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	WGN 4.jpg 
Views:	57 
Size:	692.0 KB 
ID:	61921
    Likes hotrod180, mam90, Steve Pierce liked this post

  10. #130
    texmex's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Hanging Rock, Australia.
    Posts
    393
    Post Thanks / Like
    Some better pics.

    If you click on them they come up better.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	WGN 5.jpg 
Views:	92 
Size:	561.4 KB 
ID:	61922

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_0678.jpg 
Views:	69 
Size:	133.4 KB 
ID:	61923
    Likes hotrod180, mam90, Steve Pierce liked this post

  11. #131
    texmex's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Hanging Rock, Australia.
    Posts
    393
    Post Thanks / Like
    Has anyone successfully adjusted the parking brake cable. Mine will only allow enough movement to have the catch click into the first notch, and that's with too much pulling force. And when I say click that's only if one hand is holding the clip up.

    I've ordered another spring of Cessna but am wondering how much adjustment is in the cable, tube assembly?

    My childhood memory has the park brake working with 4 or 5 notches and not too much force.

    Any guidance welcome.

    Cheers.

  12. #132
    stewartb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Wolf Lake, AK
    Posts
    7,560
    Post Thanks / Like
    Never have used mine so I’m sitting in the plane to try it. Turn the lever and pull, I have a pretty good tug to get one click.
    Likes 180Marty liked this post

  13. #133

    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Meanwhile,...
    Posts
    5,538
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by stewartb View Post
    Never have used mine so I’m sitting in the plane to try it. Turn the lever and pull, I have a pretty good tug to get one click.
    On a long cross country I once read in my POH to "apply brakes before engaging parking brake" could be the issue.
    Remember, These are the Good old Days!

  14. #134
    texmex's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Hanging Rock, Australia.
    Posts
    393
    Post Thanks / Like
    Thanks guys. Yes mine needs adjusting. And so might yours Stewartb I'll see what I can get out of the nuts on the tube, if not I'll pull it and get a slightly longer cable made.

    On a long cross country I once read in my POH to "apply brakes before engaging parking brake" could be the issue.
    I couldn't imagine not doing so. But then I became an Airbus pilot.

  15. #135
    mvivion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Bozeman,MT
    Posts
    12,256
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by texmex View Post
    Hi guys.

    I'm looking to purchase a set of 850 x 6 tyres. All right tires for you lot. Looking on A/Spruce I see the Goodyear are tubeless. I seem to remember the one's I had on the Cub had tubes.

    What's everybody's favourite 850 tyres?

    And while I'm in that general area the clear leading edge tap on the gear leg is in poor condition. Any do's or don'ts with the gear tape?
    I have run both Goodyears and Dessers/Airtracs on Cessna 185s. I found that, while the Goodyears cost a bit more, they outlasted the Dessers by almost double. And, the Goodyears I've had in past are just a bit larger in diameter, but I'm sure that may vary over time.

    I like Goodyears, though.

    MTV

  16. #136
    texmex's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Hanging Rock, Australia.
    Posts
    393
    Post Thanks / Like
    Thanks, good to know. I was going to the States a bit earlier in the year, and thought I would take advantage of free shipping but I couldn't purchase 8.50 tyres anywhere.

    Supply chain issues.

  17. #137
    stewartb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Wolf Lake, AK
    Posts
    7,560
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by OLDCROWE View Post
    On a long cross country I once read in my POH to "apply brakes before engaging parking brake" could be the issue.
    My brakes were applied. I tried it with and without pedals pushed. It didn’t make any difference in the pull. I doubt I have anything to fix. The park brakes are very effective.
    Last edited by stewartb; 08-01-2022 at 08:37 AM.

  18. #138
    texmex's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Hanging Rock, Australia.
    Posts
    393
    Post Thanks / Like
    I doubt I have anything to fix.
    If you never use it, I would agree.

    My latest head scratcher.

    The mixture cable is a Bowden Cable style, with inner piano wire driving the mixture control arm.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_0315.jpg 
Views:	51 
Size:	102.4 KB 
ID:	62046

    I can rig it so as to get full rich, but only 2/3 of the way back to lean. And hence I'm using the key to switch off at the moment.

    Obviously the lug holding the end of the cable is not in a good position. The whole bloody mixture cable run is not in a good position.

    But partly inspired by watching some YouTube, Avweb Paul Bertorelli video on his J3 carby heat cable, I'm wondering if I should be looking at a cable with a rod end.

    Or is there an other bolt arrangement that can hold the piano wire, and also swivel ?

    Does anyone remember how they have rigged their C180 mixture cable?

    I will get down to an aerodrome about an hours flight away that houses 3 or 4 C180's in a few weeks. In the interim I'm scratching my head.

    Cheers,
    Texmex.
    Likes soyAnarchisto liked this post

  19. #139
    wireweinie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Palmer, AK
    Posts
    4,633
    Post Thanks / Like
    You need to move the cable sheath all the way back to the clamp. And you are missing the swivel connection that fastens the end of the cable to the mixture arm (usually called a 'bug nut'). If you keep working the cable without the swivel, it will work harden the inner wire and eventually break.

    Web
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	bug nut.jpg 
Views:	33 
Size:	22.6 KB 
ID:	62047  
    Life's tough . . . wear a cup.
    Thanks texmex, soyAnarchisto thanked for this post

  20. #140
    Grand Pooh Bah soyAnarchisto's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Boulder, CO
    Posts
    730
    Post Thanks / Like
    or fab a new little bracket that holds the cable clamp and moves it further back. You might need a 1/16" smaller stainless clamp to get a little tighter. Mine was on with a rubber adel clamp which would slip and give the same symptoms - couldn't get to idle cut-off.

    Mine just broke on my 180 about a month and a half ago. Some previous man-tainer of my plane had installed a 9/64ths bolt - yes you read that right - on that cable clamp and it really gave me fits trying to get it off. It required a deep well 9/64ths socket.

    Holee Shiite. Who does that? I guess it was the only one they had lying around.

  21. #141
    Grand Pooh Bah soyAnarchisto's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Boulder, CO
    Posts
    730
    Post Thanks / Like
    Can someone post a close up picture of the parking brake cable attached to the master brake cylinder on the brake pedals? Mine is missing/inop, and I'd like to piece together the parts to make it work again, and the IPC picture really isn't that clear. What's it supposed to look like on a '55?

  22. #142
    stewartb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Wolf Lake, AK
    Posts
    7,560
    Post Thanks / Like
    Like this? Mine’s a ‘75. I guess I can blow out the lint if you need a clearer shot of how the cable attaches to the bell crank.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	0293E1EA-8061-4025-9A5F-408B2A5F121F.jpg 
Views:	40 
Size:	57.6 KB 
ID:	62114   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	825E4F17-2759-4BA9-A498-6835EC44F67E.jpg 
Views:	37 
Size:	71.1 KB 
ID:	62115  

  23. #143
    supilot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    501
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by soyAnarchisto View Post
    Can someone post a close up picture of the parking brake cable attached to the master brake cylinder on the brake pedals? Mine is missing/inop, and I'd like to piece together the parts to make it work again, and the IPC picture really isn't that clear. What's it supposed to look like on a '55?
    I can send you a picture of the one I installed on mine, tomorrow. I wouldn’t install the early model PB. Go with the late model install. The early model system is hazardous to your health. Mine is a 1955.
    Last edited by supilot; 08-15-2022 at 09:24 PM.
    Thanks soyAnarchisto thanked for this post

  24. #144

    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    88
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by supilot View Post
    I can send you a picture of the one I installed on mine, tomorrow. I wouldn’t install the early model PB. Go with the late model install. The early model system is hazardous to your health. Mine is a 1955.
    Same here- I deleted mine after looking at how the mechanism ties into the normal braking. It is a recipe for disaster on the early models


    Sent from my iPhone using SuperCub.Org mobile app
    Thanks soyAnarchisto thanked for this post

  25. #145
    supilot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    501
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by silflexer View Post
    Same here- I deleted mine after looking at how the mechanism ties into the normal braking. It is a recipe for disaster on the early models


    Sent from my iPhone using SuperCub.Org mobile app
    I initially ignored the advice of some. That was a mistake. Luckily, my few random engagements all happened on grass. I had two on takeoff and one on landing. Been 5 years now with the late model system and never an issue.
    Thanks soyAnarchisto thanked for this post

  26. #146
    Grand Pooh Bah soyAnarchisto's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Boulder, CO
    Posts
    730
    Post Thanks / Like
    Do I have to also install the late model pedals? I don’t see away to attach cables to the brake pedals on the early brakes - rounded style. Where did you guys source the parking brake bell crank assembly?


    Sent from my iPhone using SuperCub.Org

  27. #147
    supilot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    501
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by soyAnarchisto View Post
    Do I have to also install the late model pedals? I don’t see away to attach cables to the brake pedals on the early brakes - rounded style. Where did you guys source the parking brake bell crank assembly?


    Sent from my iPhone using SuperCub.Org
    No, you can use original pedals. I got everything from Mack at Skywagon City in Canada.
    Thanks soyAnarchisto thanked for this post

Similar Threads

  1. C180 questions.
    By texmex in forum Cessna: C180/C182/C185
    Replies: 28
    Last Post: 09-09-2016, 12:03 PM
  2. C180 questions.
    By texmex in forum Cafe Supercub
    Replies: 28
    Last Post: 09-09-2016, 12:03 PM
  3. New C180 Owner - Few Questions
    By irishj3seaplane in forum Everything Else (formerly:My Other Plane Is A....)
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 04-05-2008, 01:34 PM
  4. Super Cub general questions
    By tgarrison in forum Cafe Supercub
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 02-14-2005, 08:14 PM

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •