Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Replacing Whelen wingtip strobes

  1. #1
    Anne's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    SE Michigan
    Posts
    1,685
    Post Thanks / Like

    Replacing Whelen wingtip strobes

    Hi all, has anyone replaced their wingtip strobes (not nav lights) with LEDs? I'd like to replace the whole set-up, including the power box. If so, what did you replace them with? Did you have to replace the wiring and switches too, or can those be re-used? Is there something other than LEDs that would work too?

    My plane is a homebuilt replica SC from scratch (not a kit), experimental, so anything that fits on a SC fits my plane.

    Thanks for your help!
    Baloney is still baloney, no matter how thin you slice it.
    Thanks Seaworthy thanked for this post

  2. #2

    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    4,405
    Post Thanks / Like
    Anne,

    You can find direct replacement (same footprint) LED strobes with or without nav lights built in. Figure out your strobe footprint and go browse the airplane parts websites. You can use much of the wiring and the same switch but you won't need the power supplies. LED strobes run off of standard 12v. You can choose to run a wire between strobes to synchronize their flash timing but that isn't required.

    SB
    Thanks Anne thanked for this post
    Likes Brmoore liked this post

  3. #3
    www.SkupTech.com mike mcs repair's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    chugiak AK
    Posts
    10,196
    Post Thanks / Like
    You may end up with radio noise, if so you would need to string shielded wire to them


    Sent from my iPhone using SuperCub.Org

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    6,628
    Post Thanks / Like
    I want a strobe bulb that has only two modes: flash, and off.

    Like flashlights, most bulbs have a sequence - off - on - strobe - off. I hate that.

  5. #5
    Hgr3029e's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Santa Maria, CA
    Posts
    18
    Post Thanks / Like
    We are running Aveos.
    They are LED Strobe Nav and Position
    All the wiring runs off the nav switch.

    We installed these on our Experimental Sport Cub and are what are provided from the factory on the Carbon Cubs.
    No noise and very little draw. Same footprint as the standard nav/ strobe.

    We also went with the Aveo tail position and strobe. We are starting the same upgrade on my Sport Cub


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Scott and Kim Huntington
    2007 CubCrafters CC11-100 "Sierra"
    2008 CubCrafters Cc11-100 "Priscilla"


Similar Threads

  1. Paperwork for the Whelen Wingtip and Tail LED lights
    By jerichod in forum Member to Member
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-27-2017, 01:31 PM
  2. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-03-2013, 09:54 PM
  3. AveoFlash LED strobes?
    By TDTerry in forum Modifications
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-24-2008, 09:08 AM
  4. Strobes
    By StewartB in forum Tips and Tricks
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: 03-27-2003, 08:52 AM

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •