Results 1 to 30 of 30

Thread: Portable GPS

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Posts
    64
    Post Thanks / Like

    Portable GPS

    Hey All, Iím panel space challenged and looking to mount a small portable GPS in a cradle. I have just enough room below the Transponder maybe. I donít need to be shooting a RNAV approach to LPV minimims😂, just need to get through Canada as Foreflite doesnít offer sectionals. Im leaning towards a Garmin area 660 but if there is a less expensive option I would appreciate your input
    Thanks Bill.Brine, OldCuby thanked for this post
    Likes WanaBNACub liked this post

  2. #2
    mvivion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Bozeman,MT
    Posts
    10,608
    Post Thanks / Like
    If you don’t need weather why not a Garmin 500 or 510?

    MTV

  3. #3
    gdafoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Castle Well Airpark SE of Wickenburg AZ
    Posts
    877
    Post Thanks / Like
    The 660 is a very capable GPS far better in my opinion than any of the 500 series. Among other things, it will send and receive flight plans with ForeFlight
    Likes WanaBNACub liked this post

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    4,810
    Post Thanks / Like
    A $100 Canada subscription added to Foreflight would be easier.

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Posts
    64
    Post Thanks / Like
    Last year Foreflite didn’t offer whatever a Canadian sectional is called. The airports displayed and Weather was available. I’ll shoot them a message

  6. #6

  7. #7
    cubdriver2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    upstate NY
    Posts
    9,884
    Post Thanks / Like
    $100 Samsung pad and free avare or $34 Naviator app. Better then any gps

    Glenn
    "Optimism is going after Moby Dick in a rowboat and taking the tartar sauce with you!"

  8. #8
    hotrod180's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Port Townsend, WA
    Posts
    2,778
    Post Thanks / Like
    I like the (free!) Avare app but they don't include Canada.
    Cessna Skywagon-- accept no substitute!

  9. #9
    rv8bldr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Cedar Hill, ON
    Posts
    5
    Post Thanks / Like
    Fltplan.com and their mobile app FltPlan Go.

    Works awesome on phones and tablets, and has free Canadian charts. I've been using it for years.


    Sent from my Moto G (4) using Tapatalk

  10. #10
    Cranman
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    FLORIDA/WISCONSIN
    Posts
    205
    Post Thanks / Like
    The PA 12 we just bought came with an "I fly" GPS. We use a suction cup mount on the right windshield (just ahead of the door post). It has many features like fuel prices enroute, etc.
    A gun is like a parachute. If you need one and don't have one, you'll probably never need one again.

  11. #11
    WanaBNACub's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Off Airport
    Posts
    497
    Post Thanks / Like
    After my 296 finally started having issues I upgraded to the 660. I also put an Ipad in the panel during the rebuild. And now, this week I added a Garmin GDL-50. The three of them work very well together. I got a Aera 550 with the cub when I originally bought it and quickly went back to the 296. I really wish the 296 was still supported and I would still own one.

  12. #12

    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Posts
    64
    Post Thanks / Like
    Ya my 396 died otherwise I would put it in the Cruiser. Upgraded to Canada on Foreflight but still don’t see VNC charts
    Likes WanaBNACub liked this post

  13. #13
    L18C-95's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    460
    Post Thanks / Like
    My 196 is still going strong, picked it up cheap ten years ago - good battery life on 4 AAs


    Sent from my iPad using SuperCub.Org

  14. #14
    hotrod180's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Port Townsend, WA
    Posts
    2,778
    Post Thanks / Like
    I think they still support them too--
    I got the database updated in my 196 just 3 years ago or so.
    Cessna Skywagon-- accept no substitute!

  15. #15
    Henny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Ely, MN
    Posts
    354
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by cplne View Post
    Upgraded to Canada on Foreflight but still donít see VNC charts
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_6235.PNG 
Views:	61 
Size:	354.3 KB 
ID:	36300
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_6236.jpg 
Views:	66 
Size:	53.3 KB 
ID:	36302
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_6235.PNG 
Views:	53 
Size:	354.3 KB 
ID:	36301  

  16. #16

    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Posts
    64
    Post Thanks / Like
    Got em thanks

  17. #17

    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    6,861
    Post Thanks / Like
    I use the 295, 296, and 496. They are perfect. I just tried the Aera 500, and liked it, but it died about five hours into the trip. Cheap Chinese battery probably pissed it off. The 496 was my backup.

  18. #18
    G44's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    SW Michigan
    Posts
    473
    Post Thanks / Like
    I have used all the "96" units, the 560 and some others. I have a 660 and really like it. The 796 is a very nice unit but you have to have the room for its bigger size.

  19. #19
    Bill.Brine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    432
    Post Thanks / Like
    660


    Sent from my iPhone using SuperCub.Org

  20. #20

    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Belgrade, Montana
    Posts
    55
    Post Thanks / Like
    I bought a 660, and it is really nice.
    But, I am not pleased that when I plug my XM antenna into it, it does not show weather. Not designed to do that, like my 496 was.
    Should have confirmed that little detail first.
    Garmin claimed that they were going to update the software to add that capability, but they never did. Now you have to buy a separate receiver..
    May you always choose the time and place you land..

  21. #21

    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Posts
    64
    Post Thanks / Like
    Decided on the area 660 but don’t have the panel space to mount it in an air gizmo. My Go Flight has nice mounts that should work on the V Brace, what are you guys using.
    Likes WanaBNACub liked this post

  22. #22

    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    1,754
    Post Thanks / Like
    I prefer not to do in panel mount. My 795 is service mounted vertically right below the V brace, so bottom half would cover a large gauge hole. Just sit in the plane and move the 660 around until you like it.
    DENNY

  23. #23
    Cub Special Ed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    MT/SD
    Posts
    452
    Post Thanks / Like
    I finaly converted my cub to a glass panel. Only cost me some velcro and an old garmin 196 i bought when it was the new thing.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20170726_053422.jpg 
Views:	62 
Size:	106.9 KB 
ID:	36677
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	0929170802a.jpg 
Views:	56 
Size:	33.0 KB 
ID:	36678
    "There are 3 kinds of men. The one that learns by reading. The few who learn by observation. The rest of them have to pee on the electric fence for themselves." Will Rogers
    Likes cubdriver2 liked this post

  24. #24
    WanaBNACub's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Off Airport
    Posts
    497
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by cplne View Post
    Decided on the area 660 but don’t have the panel space to mount it in an air gizmo. My Go Flight has nice mounts that should work on the V Brace, what are you guys using.

    I just used a ram clamp mount for both the 660 using the garmin mount, and inreach. Works very well.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	_N8A9298.jpg 
Views:	84 
Size:	80.7 KB 
ID:	36681

  25. #25
    CubDriver218's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    627
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by WanaBNACub View Post
    After my 296 finally started having issues I upgraded to the 660. I also put an Ipad in the panel during the rebuild. And now, this week I added a Garmin GDL-50. The three of them work very well together. I got a Aera 550 with the cub when I originally bought it and quickly went back to the 296. I really wish the 296 was still supported and I would still own one.
    Yes I love my 296 and 496. I'm not a fan of touch screens in the cockpit, but that's me.
    Fast or slow, always low, freedom of flight soothes the soul.
    Likes WanaBNACub liked this post

  26. #26

    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    Fairbanks, AK
    Posts
    46
    Post Thanks / Like
    I have a plate mounted over a 2 1/4Ē hole that extends above the panel with the Garmin bare wire mount. Plate came that way with the cub and a Garmin 500. Iíve upgraded to the 660. I now have my 406 ELT and EI FP-5L accepting GPS data from the 660 (FP-5L is being installed now).

    Jeff

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_0738.JPG 
Views:	60 
Size:	155.7 KB 
ID:	36682
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_0739.JPG 
Views:	43 
Size:	122.2 KB 
ID:	36683


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Jeff

  27. #27

    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Meanwhile,...
    Posts
    5,077
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by lowerchena View Post
    I have a plate mounted over a 2 1/4” hole that extends above the panel with the Garmin bare wire mount. Plate came that way with the cub and a Garmin 500. I’ve upgraded to the 660. I now have my 406 ELT and EI FP-5L accepting GPS data from the 660 (FP-5L is being installed now).

    Jeff

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_0738.JPG 
Views:	60 
Size:	155.7 KB 
ID:	36682
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_0739.JPG 
Views:	43 
Size:	122.2 KB 
ID:	36683


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Any issues with the unit getting hot and shutting down, my 796 does not like to have direct sunshine on the back of the unit and is similar mounted in my 180.
    Remember, These are the Good old Days!
    Likes DENNY liked this post

  28. #28

    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    Fairbanks, AK
    Posts
    46
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by OLDCROWE View Post
    Any issues with the unit getting hot and shutting down, my 796 does not like to have direct sunshine on the back of the unit and is similar mounted in my 180.
    Not so far. But then I fly out of Fairbanks so heat is not an issue very often .


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Jeff

  29. #29
    labrador_cub's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Location
    Wabush,NL
    Posts
    32
    Post Thanks / Like
    here's my setup with a 500, I like it other then the map detail which changes depending on how much you're zoomed in, when set where I like it most of the water detail is gone including some coves and arms of a large lake I do most of my flying on. I do all float flying so not being able to see any lakes is really annoying considering this part of Labrador has A LOT of water.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20170727_132931.jpg 
Views:	38 
Size:	77.4 KB 
ID:	37249  

  30. #30

    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    1,754
    Post Thanks / Like
    OLDCROWE
    My 795 (high center mount) will also get hot from the sun and defroster, I usually just stick my gloves behind it to block the sun/heat and it solves the problem.
    DENNY
    Thanks iiAtlas thanked for this post

Similar Threads

  1. new Garmin portable
    By GeorgeMandes in forum Cafe Supercub
    Replies: 53
    Last Post: 11-08-2009, 07:46 PM
  2. Portable Intercom
    By PCollin in forum Member to Member
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 08-28-2008, 05:18 PM
  3. portable intercoms
    By rrb in forum Cafe Supercub
    Replies: 29
    Last Post: 02-09-2004, 01:31 PM

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •