Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Ideas for Aviation friendly communities or Air Parks???

Post Thanks / Like

Ideas for Aviation friendly communities or Air Parks???

Once again my bride of many years is pestering me to move out of Alaska at least in the winter months. She craves warmth and a swimming pool.
    Everyday (twice a day) she has a new list of potential homes and towns. Her ideas of nice places to live are not the same as mine.
    So.... I might as well get myself into the process before I get stuck in someplace terrible.

Are there certain states or areas that are NOT aviation friendly that should be avoided ???
    How about areas that are more likely to have aviation activities, fly-ins and such???
    How about air parks or community runways??? Are there down-sides to those?

Any ideas???

Post Thanks / Like
    As a mechanic, I sometimes hated living on an airpark. It was very easy for someone to beat on the door on Sunday morning with a rough mag when they wanted to fly out to breakfast or something...I always helped them, but it sure wasn't in my plans for starting a day off. On the other hand, I loved having neighbors dropping by the shop all the time! It was a pretty close little community, with some very interesting members! We only had one guy that was a jerk, so everyone else had a lot of fun together, with the common tie of aviation. I made some good friends there. There's an airport community just a few miles from me now (Cabin Creek in Montana) and they seem to do pretty well.
    John

Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Alex Clark View Post
    Once again my bride of many years is pestering me to move out of Alaska at least in the winter months. She craves warmth and a swimming pool.
    Everyday (twice a day) she has a new list of potential homes and towns. Her ideas of nice places to live are not the same as mine.
    So.... I might as well get myself into the process before I get stuck in someplace terrible.