Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Locking Tailwheel

Post Thanks / Like

Locking Tailwheel

Do any of you Skywagon drivers use one or have it installed?

Opinions?
    "Put out my hand and touched the face of God!"

Post Thanks / Like
    Never specifically on a Skywagon, by my personal opinion is they're great on a pavement pounder but not so much for an off-airport machine. Is this a modification to a Scott or a free swivel you're talking about. The one I have experience with was a free swivel tied to the elevators. Hard forward stick unlocked the TW.
    After Monday and Tuesday, even the calendar says WTF !

Post Thanks / Like
    Plane will get a mix of pavement and no pavement. I have zero experience with locking tailwheels.

Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Eddie Foy View Post
    Do any of you Skywagon drivers use one or have it installed?

Opinions?
    Don’t have one, some love-some hate ‘em
    Remember, These are the Good old Days!

Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by OLDCROWE View Post
    Don’t have one, some love-some hate ‘em
    Pros??

Cons??

Post Thanks / Like
    I've made a long taxi in a cross wind that it seems a locking tail wheel would have been nice. I think I remember my Dad's Thrush spray plane had a lock when the stick was back------must have been a reason with all that power and it had Studebaker brake cylinders.

Post Thanks / Like
    After a LONG cross-wind taxi I started looking for the parts and determined they were made out of unobtanium!
    Remember, These are the Good old Days!
    Thanks Bowie thanked for this post
    Likes FdxLou liked this post

Post Thanks / Like
    I’ve flown two 185s with locking tailwheels. Most of our planes had them removed, and I never really felt that was a big deal either way.