• If You Are Having Trouble Logging In with Your Old Username and Password, Please use this Forgot Your Password link to get re-established.
  • Hey! Be sure to login or register!

Oratex

skysigns

FRIEND
Yelm WA 98597
looking for advice the last 3 cubs i covered in stewarts thinking about oratex on my next cub
is it a good idea for a working cub

I'm planning on using it on a working cub, would like to attend a workshop and play with the stuff first though.

Hi Skysigns. I'm no expert on the matter and this is just an observation so take it for what it's worth. A Super Cub came in for a 100 hrly the other day. This Cub was recently recovered in Oratex (it was covered in cotton.....was getting tired!). I am not sure about the figures but speaking with a mechanic that was involved with the recover, he said the empty weigh decreased with Oratex so that's good. However, watching the back end of the aircraft when it is on the ground at idle, my impression is that the entire back end flex's (twist's) allot more than other Cubs covered with either Polyester of Cotton. I think the Oratex is more flexible than the regular coverings. Whether this will translate into structural fatigue later on remains to be seen. Perhaps others have had more experience with this? Apart from that, a friend of mine said it seems fairly puncture resistant and if it gets a dent (stretched), just grab the iron and warm it up again and you are good to go. Anyway, just my 2 cents worth!

I just finished covering my landing gear with Oratex. It is definitely different to work with than Stits or Stewarts, but following the directions closely gave a decent result. It certainly is nice that once it's on and shrunk it's done! I think, however I could do a nicer looking job with Stits or Stewarts, the only other systems I've used.