• If You Are Having Trouble Logging In with Your Old Username and Password, Please use this Forgot Your Password link to get re-established.
  • Hey! Be sure to login or register!

How to Start a 135 Operation in AK

7GCBC

Palmer Ak
So I've been wanting to start my own 9 pax or less Part 135. I currently fly 121 so have a little bit of knowledge about the requirements, but the things I don't know are what the markets like around the Anchorage area. I have a 185 that is almost ready to pass a conformity check if need be, but is it possible to make a living year round? I know doing game surveys are a huge money maker, but I have zero experience using radio tracking. Does anybody have a ballpark price on what insurance rates are?

Steve in Soldatna Falcon Insurance
Jerry at AirSure

Used both to insure, both are good.

"OAS" is a real gov't operation in every respect.

We we can talk if you like, just rattle my cage. It is 135 fun, lots of fun

Sooooo much easier to work for someone else.

Much less headache, and more money at home every month. Well, some less, but I don't have to pay the fuel and parts bills...

half million in gross revenue a year, 530k in expenses a year & some bent planes..... and break even in late September the next year... rinse, repeat!

yup!!

encouraging or are we or educating? (been there done that!)

parents said they were doing it for me... I said, I THOUGHT you LIKED me??

I have started my own charter service in a king air. Expect about 2 years in paperwork for a simple single pilot operator. 1.75 times regular insurance, you may think your ready for conformity but it's all the log books not the physical plane. It's a pain in the butt!

There are lots of single pilot 135 operators who will share their experience. They all say roughly the
same thing: you don't make much money. Most of the guys who make a go of it for more than a
few years have found a niche. Finding the niche is the hard part.