• If You Are Having Trouble Logging In with Your Old Username and Password, Please use this Forgot Your Password link to get re-established.
  • Hey! Be sure to login or register!

PA-12 Jig

Scotty M

Oklahoma City
Hi everyone! Thanks for a great site and an incredible amount of info.

A little intro...my history is 21 years of Air Force aircraft maintenance and NDI. Currently taking care of a fleet of Beechcraft King Air 350's. So obviously I have very little experience with small GA aircraft, but have always had an interest, particularly with Cubs when I was stationed at Elmendorf. I had a dream....

Fast forward about 24 years and I am finally in a position to pursue my dream of rebuilding and flying an airplane--both of which I don't know how to do, so I bought a pa-12. I know most will say foolish but thats what I like to do, so off I go...when I'm done hopefully I'll have a nice airplane to learn to fly in.

Question 1: Who has a pa-12 fuselage jig in the Midwest? I'm in Oklahoma City. I spoke with Steve Pierce (very helpful and knowledgeable) but I think he is too busy and also not jigged for -12's. Fox aviation in Justin Tx haven't returned any calls.

Question 2: How exactly (techniques) does a fuselage get "adjusted" back to straight. The tail is bent bad enough to plainly see, although it was flying like this. Will brute force, hairy eyeballs and a few pieces of string get you there? 😳

Sorry for for the long post but I have exhausted the search function for a solid lead on pa-12 jigs.
Thanks
Scott