• If You Are Having Trouble Logging In with Your Old Username and Password, Please use this Forgot Your Password link to get re-established.
  • Hey! Be sure to login or register!

Can the tail get too high?

d_kandle

FRIEND
Idaho
I am new to tail-wheel airplanes. I built and am flying an SQ2. Lots of fun. Takeoff is very quick as the plane has too much power and will fly at a ridiculously slow speed.
Several people have told me that I should practice rolling the plane down the full length of the runway on the mains to gain more practice for wheel landings. But I end up lifting off after only a hundred feet or so because I am hesitant to push the nose down enough to hold the mains on the runway. It feels like I'm going to push the prop into the pavement. Some people have told me this is not possible and some (who haven't tried) say it is. My question is this: in a Super Cub can I push the stick all the way forward while applying enough power to go down the runway at say 40 mph and still have prop clearance?
Years ago I asked a friend who had a Pacer, and he demonstrated it to me (full power, stick all the way forward, 10,000' of runway). Felt like the tail was 10' in the air but nothing touched.

I had to overcome the same thing when I bought my Cub. Pushing forward just felt wrong. Practice it alot on a grass runway. Get the tail up and reduce power a bit.

I wont say you cant hit the prop on takeoff but it would be damn difficult.

"Takeoff is very quick as the plane has too much power and will fly at a ridiculously slow speed."

You can never have too much power. As the old saying goes "Too much power seems just about right!"

Gary

I was told the same thing when water skipping that you can push the stick forward and all the way forward, Believe me you can touch the prop and it will get your attention :oops: and if you're not quick on the stick the next step will be on your back :yikez:. practice without full power use just enough to keep the tail up.