Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Throttle cable, mixture cable?

  1. #1

    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Bellingen, NSW, Australia
    Posts
    735
    Post Thanks / Like

    Throttle cable, mixture cable?

    My Cub's arriving in Australia next week in a container. An aileron cable is a bit frayed and the cables are all 18 years old now, so I'm going to replace all the control cables while it is broken down. Should I go ahead and replace throttle and mixture cables while I am at it?

    Anything else I should absolutely do as a matter of routine replacement maintenance at this point? Last rebuild 1996 and I am not clear what was actually replaced with new parts then.

    Cheers,

    David
    Likes Wal liked this post

  2. #2
    Pete D's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Yakima, WA
    Posts
    62
    Post Thanks / Like
    I would do new hose for the fuel system in the wing roots, you probably will have easy access as it is probably shipped with the wings off?

    Also if it has a newer fuel selector (not the brass cone type but something with O-rings) put new o-rings in the fuel selector as they usually dry out and will leak if it has had the fuel drained out of it for shipping.

    Hard to believe 1996 was 18 years ago...

  3. #3
    DW's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    pacific northwest
    Posts
    2,067
    Post Thanks / Like
    David what are you doing in Australia did you guys move?

  4. #4
    knucles's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    nevada
    Posts
    124
    Post Thanks / Like
    Check out fuel and oil lines forward of the firewall . They get old and hard.

  5. #5
    Ruffair's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Lower Chena
    Posts
    1,254
    Post Thanks / Like
    Change um..! Change them all...!

    Worn and broken cables, and old fuel / oil hoses will ruin your day.

  6. #6
    Steve Pierce's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Graham, TX
    Posts
    19,109
    Post Thanks / Like
    I would leave the throttle cable. If you decide to replace it I will buy it. I don't believe the replacements are as good a quality as the originals. I agree on fuel and oil hoses especially on the late models the way the oil lines are run between the crankcase and the intake tubes. My experience with the fuel valve is that once fuel is in them for a while they seal up.
    Steve Pierce

    Everybody is ignorant, only on different subjects.
    Will Rogers
    Likes LMartin liked this post

  7. #7
    Lisa Martin LMartin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Coeur d'Alene, ID
    Posts
    56
    Post Thanks / Like
    I got a quick, cheap annual that is turning into very long and expensive. I dropped the glass gascolator bowl so ordered a new Steveís. We had to swing the engine to mount it. The IA thought it would be fine but, first flight I lost the tach. Ordered and installed a new tach cable. Next flight lost the mixture, that cable is on order. The IA thought the tsoíd mixture cables were too expensive so ordered a cheaper pmaíd one. That should be ok, shouldnít it? Iím not super worried about the mixture. I am worried about the throttle cable. With all the stretched cables failing, itís the one that scares me. I donít want to reduce power to drag a snow covered lake or mountain strip and have that fail. I see SP said the old throttle cables are tougher than new ones though. I can get a used old one that was operating well at removal, buy new or hope the one I have is fine. Any words of wisdom?


    Sent from my iPad using SuperCub.Org
    Thanks windy thanked for this post

  8. #8
    Steve Pierce's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Graham, TX
    Posts
    19,109
    Post Thanks / Like
    To swing the engine on a Super Cub all you should have to unhook is the tach cable. Never seen a glass gascolator bowl on a Super Cub either. I do have to remove the bowl and twist around to get a Steve's in but don't remember having to swing the engine. How much did you pull on the throttle cable? I would think if you put much tension on it you would bend the arm that holds the throttle cable to the engine mount before damaging the cable. Did the mixture cable break? It is a thin wire where the throttle cable is a cable.
    Steve Pierce

    Everybody is ignorant, only on different subjects.
    Will Rogers
    Likes LMartin liked this post

  9. #9
    behindpropellers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    NE Ohio
    Posts
    6,750
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Steve Pierce View Post
    To swing the engine on a Super Cub all you should have to unhook is the tach cable. Never seen a glass gascolator bowl on a Super Cub either. I do have to remove the bowl and twist around to get a Steve's in but don't remember having to swing the engine. How much did you pull on the throttle cable? I would think if you put much tension on it you would bend the arm that holds the throttle cable to the engine mount before damaging the cable. Did the mixture cable break? It is a thin wire where the throttle cable is a cable.
    He probably bent the stud sticking out of the firewall. Not sure how I would know that
    Likes LMartin liked this post

  10. #10

    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    1,831
    Post Thanks / Like
    I have seen where they swung the mount without removing tach cable, it had enough slack to pull out then make a hard bend when engine swung back. The IA could not figure out why engine did not make RPM, once cable broke and replaced engine power came back. That one was not me but I have seen it.
    DENNY
    Likes LMartin liked this post

  11. #11
    Lisa Martin LMartin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Coeur d'Alene, ID
    Posts
    56
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by DENNY View Post
    I have seen where they swung the mount without removing tach cable, it had enough slack to pull out then make a hard bend when engine swung back. The IA could not figure out why engine did not make RPM, once cable broke and replaced engine power came back. That one was not me but I have seen it.
    DENNY
    I think it was the hard bend when the engine went back that broke the tach cable. I wasnít there for the mixture cable failure. Neither one of those are much of a problem, but a throttle failure could get me in trouble.


    Sent from my iPad using SuperCub.Org mobile app

  12. #12
    Lisa Martin LMartin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Coeur d'Alene, ID
    Posts
    56
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Steve Pierce View Post
    To swing the engine on a Super Cub all you should have to unhook is the tach cable. Never seen a glass gascolator bowl on a Super Cub either. I do have to remove the bowl and twist around to get a Steve's in but don't remember having to swing the engine. How much did you pull on the throttle cable? I would think if you put much tension on it you would bend the arm that holds the throttle cable to the engine mount before damaging the cable. Did the mixture cable break? It is a thin wire where the throttle cable is a cable.
    The glass might have been rare, but I liked being able to see in. The gascolator was close to the engine mount. I donít know if the engine needed to swing or not. He removed the bracket and installed it. I didnít like that so I went back and reinstalled with the bracket, and I didnít swing the engine. Steveís gascolator is working great. Iím happy with it...just engine control cable problems now. Iím probably stressing needlessly, I donít like to throw money away but I do like to go places where a failure would be a big problem.


    Sent from my iPad using SuperCub.Org mobile app

  13. #13

    Join Date
    May 2017
    Posts
    573
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by LMartin View Post
    I got a quick, cheap annual that is turning into very long and expensive. I dropped the glass gascolator bowl so ordered a new Steveís. We had to swing the engine to mount it. The IA thought it would be fine but, first flight I lost the tach. Ordered and installed a new tach cable. Next flight lost the mixture, that cable is on order. The IA thought the tsoíd mixture cables were too expensive so ordered a cheaper pmaíd one. That should be ok, shouldnít it? Iím not super worried about the mixture. I am worried about the throttle cable. With all the stretched cables failing, itís the one that scares me. I donít want to reduce power to drag a snow covered lake or mountain strip and have that fail. I see SP said the old throttle cables are tougher than new ones though. I can get a used old one that was operating well at removal, buy new or hope the one I have is fine. Any words of wisdom?


    Sent from my iPad using SuperCub.Org
    Someone isnít giving you the right story. There is no such thing as a TSO cable. They are either from the original TC holder or they are PMA.


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Similar Threads

  1. Mixture cable, need pics
    By longsled in forum Cafe Supercub
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 09-09-2013, 07:58 AM
  2. Mixture cable break
    By bob turner in forum Cafe Supercub
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 02-10-2006, 07:49 PM
  3. Mixture cable
    By pa19guy in forum Modifications
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-31-2004, 12:35 PM

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •