• If You Are Having Trouble Logging In with Your Old Username and Password, Please use this Forgot Your Password link to get re-established.
  • Hey! Be sure to login or register!

Buying a Super Cub (Mission, notes, specs included)

Drewch

Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Hi all,

I'm just beginning my search for a Super Cub. I am hoping I can find the right one for me within 2-10 months. I just wanted to say what my goals with the plane are, and the specs of the plane I am looking for, and get your opinion on if I am looking for the right thing, or if there's something I should know about.

Mission
I have a few goals for what I want to do with my Super Cub, in order of importance.
  • Fly to my cottage all summer
  • Fly to very remote lakes/areas for weekend fishing/camping/hiking trips
  • Fly to hunting spots (either on bush wheels or floats)
  • Fly to my cottage in the winter and land on the lake with Skis

Notes

• I have a 75lb Golden Retriever
  • I would like to be able to have me (150lbs) in the front seat, a passenger (170 - 200lbs), and my dog (75lbs) in the plane
  • I will probably put about 100hrs a year on it
  • I have never flown a floatplane or a cub before

Specs I am looking for

• 160 hp - 180 hp
  • Float fittings

Things I'm okay with buying after I buy the plane (but nice if the plane has them already)

• Floats
  • Bush Wheels
  • VGs
  • Seaplane Prop
  • Skis

Questions
  • Am on on the right track?
  • Will a 160hp engine get off the water with myself, a passenger, and a dog?
  • Can I even carry myself, a passenger, and a dog?
  • Do I need a special mod to the cargo area to put a dog back there?
  • Will I be able to carry any bags, or say, a tent?
  • What price range do you think I am looking at? (before and after with any mods I might have to make)
  • Would the weight/balance be messed up with a heavy passenger + 75lb dog behind the passenger seat?
  • Am I missing anything?
  • Do you have any advice for me?

Thanks for the help!