Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0

Thread: Scratch building SC

Post Thanks / Like

Scratch building SC

I'm new to SuperCub.org and I have to admit, this is a great resource. I am in the planning stages of building a Super Cub PA-18-150. The Super Cub never came with wood wings I believe, but being a woodpecker (carpenter) for 34 years I would like to build them out of wood. I like the looks and superb craftsmanship of Marty Freehanís Wag Aero wings and Roger Petersonís wingís. Will the 2+2 wings work for me with some modifications, adding flaps like Marty Freehanís? I just canít seem to find much info on Rogerís Petersonís; he must not have a web site. I have purchase the PA-18 drawings and CD set from Northland. I canít seem to find any drawings on the tail group; I would like to build instead of buying pre built. As of now I am planning on using the tubing kit from Bushwhacker Aircraft for the fuselage. A little info on the wings and tail group would be much appreciated.

Post Thanks / Like
    Hello Larry, Buggs66 (Christian) also scratched one together. His site is www.supercubproject.com On there you will find all the drawings. I built my tail per the drawings on his site, +1" cord, but they are there. Good luck, and if you really like this site, and want to get the most out of it, donate up. It is worth it

Post Thanks / Like
    Hello there Larry, I too am new to this site, this will be my first post. Been reading for a year or so and just signed up a week ago. Great info here! The 2+2 wing will work perfect with a PA18 fuselage, I built one exactly like that and test flew it in 1997, no flaps,no spoilers and PA22 fuel tanks (would put flaps on if I did it again). It had an O-235 Lycoming for power. Built a set of 1800 Murphy floats and the whole thing weighed 1105 lbs with oil and unusable fuel.... on floats. Worked great! Sold it with about 400hrs on it in 2006 so now I'm building my next creation