• If You Are Having Trouble Logging In with Your Old Username and Password, Please use this Forgot Your Password link to get re-established.
  • Hey! Be sure to login or register!

Private pilot license!(17 yrs of age)

callmesam

Laval, Quebec, Canada
Hi everyone,

My name is Samuel and i live in Laval, Quebec, Canada. I've been new to this forum for a few days now. I have had a huge passion for Super Cubs even before i have started flying. I'm actually 17 years of age and i just finished my flight test today so i am now an official private pilot :) I'm currently starting the commercial license and I'm hoping to find a job in aviation in 1 or 2 years from now. Currently i fly Cessna 152 and 172 and i cant wait for the day that i could actually get in a Super Cub and go for a flight. I will take it one step at a time and hopefully have my own Super Cub one day. Just thought a should introduce myself. If anyone has tips for a young guy trying to get into the aviation industry, feel free to leave your comments! thanks

Sam

That's pretty COOL Sam,
I'd work on my Instrument rating now, all the while you're building time towards your commercial ticket. Time, along with an Inst. rating will make your comm. a snap. Here in the States you need 250hrs for the commercial ticket.
Just my thoughts on it. Work hard and strive for perfection while flying and you'll do fine.

Congrats!!

Brad

I'm not much older than you (21), and have been flying for a couple years. I am working towards ratings, and have been blessed enough to own a 65hp tcart (on bushwheels now). I am convinced that there aren't many better airplanes to learn in. At 4gph, cruise 85-90mph, approach at ~55mph, 24gph (6hr endurance, ~480mi range). I can afford to fly it, go somewhere with it, and still play on the the gravel bars, beaches, and some tundra. They are a good affordable planes to fly while you save up for a cub. But you might just grow so attached that you don't want to get rid of it :D