Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 40 of 50

Thread: Carb Control Cables

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    248
    Post Thanks / Like

    Carb Control Cables

    Bought some of those cable anchors from Spruce and am planning the best way to locate them

    Have a MA4-5 for my 0-360

    Anyone have any good pics of how you rigged your control cables and what you used?
    Thanks
    Gary

  2. #2

    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    248
    Post Thanks / Like
    Got Pics????

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    248
    Post Thanks / Like
    P.S. The carb end not inside

  4. #4
    Steve Pierce's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Graham, TX
    Posts
    20,190
    Post Thanks / Like
    Are talking about these?

    Steve Pierce

    Everybody is ignorant, only on different subjects.
    Will Rogers

  5. #5
    gdafoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Castle Well Airpark SE of Wickenburg AZ
    Posts
    883
    Post Thanks / Like
    How about this?

    Gerald

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    248
    Post Thanks / Like
    Gerald

    Thanks for the picture trying to get the best mount ideas

    Also looking for a pic to see which way to route the starter cable

    Anybody have more pics would be great

    Thanks

  7. #7
    Snert's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Raleigh, NC
    Posts
    1,763
    Post Thanks / Like
    The hose clamp holding the blue bracket to the engine mount bothers me a little. I would be looking for something more substantial. Then, what do I know?

  8. #8
    skywagon8a's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    SE Mass
    Posts
    10,679
    Post Thanks / Like
    I would be concerned with the possibility of a rough running engine because the throttle is anchored to the engine mount and the engine can move separately because of the shock mounts, thereby changing the throttle setting when the engine shakes. This would give you a fluctuating rpm. The throttle cable should be anchored to the engine not the mount.
    N1PA

  9. #9
    Steve Pierce's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Graham, TX
    Posts
    20,190
    Post Thanks / Like
    Here is a stock 1982 Super Cub throttle linkage. There is a clamp welded to a stand-off which is clamped to the engine mount. I will look in my factory pictures for a better view.
    Steve Pierce

    Everybody is ignorant, only on different subjects.
    Will Rogers

  10. #10
    gdafoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Castle Well Airpark SE of Wickenburg AZ
    Posts
    883
    Post Thanks / Like
    On my factory cub the throttle cable is anchored to the engine mount. With a rather weak factory part. (see Steve's pict, mine was similar) Never noticed it jumping around a whole lot.

    On the hose clamp, I thought the same thing until I tried it. There is a lot of difference it hose clamps, tried a few, Breeze makes the good ones. Of course you can only see one leg of the mount in that picture.
    Gerald

  11. #11
    Bill Rusk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Sandpoint, Idaho
    Posts
    5,362
    Post Thanks / Like
    Vans makes a bracket plate that bolts between the sump and the carb, which then gives a place to anchor the throttle, mixture, and carb heat. I believe it is depicted on their website. Oops, they don't have a picture but here is a link to the plate

    http://www.vansaircraft.com/cgi-bin/...rottle-bracket

    Hope this helps

    Bill

  12. #12

    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    248
    Post Thanks / Like
    appreciate the pics keep em coming. Looks like i will fab up my own bracket to support the throttle cable. I've got 4to1 exhaust and will have to include heat sheilding

    Anyone run a seperate ground cable right up to the starter? Want to increase maximum power to my B/C light weight unit

    See if you can include a pic of the batt cable routing no Cubs in my area

    Thanks

    Gary

  13. #13
    aktango58's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    18AA
    Posts
    9,346
    Post Thanks / Like
    I will get a pic today, if I remember... mad cow and all.

    FYI: I don't see any tape or chafe material between the mount and the clamps or clamping system

    Am I the only one that worries about the vibration causing weak spots on the mount?

    Put a plastic tie around the mount for 100 hours and it takes the paint off... think about what it wears next
    I don't know where you've been me lad, but I see you won first Prize!

  14. #14
    Steve Pierce's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Graham, TX
    Posts
    20,190
    Post Thanks / Like
    Talked to Kosola (the folks that overhaul engine mounts) recently. The lady there told me you would not believe what wire ties do to engine mounts.
    Steve Pierce

    Everybody is ignorant, only on different subjects.
    Will Rogers

  15. #15
    bearsnack
    Guest
    Thin brass shims work well under those clamps.

  16. #16
    JayH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    NE Iowa
    Posts
    269
    Post Thanks / Like
    I want to revive this thread a bit as I'm trying to run and position the carb control cables. Ware issues with metal on metal scare me little as well. It seems the factory didn't have any problems with mounting throttle cables to the engine mount, however the issue is engine vibration in the rubbers vs fixed mount causing throttle creep etc....I have an O360 which would vibrate quite a little more. Has anyone seen or have pics of that Vans bracket Bill Rusk mentioned? Any new insight on this topic or fancy new brackets, ideas, or photos? Thanks!!
    J

  17. #17
    spinner2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Montana
    Posts
    1,789
    Post Thanks / Like
    "Fast is fine, but accuracy is everything." Wyatt Earp

  18. #18
    JayH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    NE Iowa
    Posts
    269
    Post Thanks / Like
    Spin,
    How is the aluminum angle attached to the engine mount? Is it adel clamps or...? Looking like the engine mount in that location is gonna be the way to go I guess.

    Thanks,
    J

  19. #19
    www.SkupTech.com mike mcs repair's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    chugiak AK
    Posts
    11,534
    Post Thanks / Like
    fyi what ever you do, make sure with cable disconnected at throttle arm that it is relaxed in idle and full throttle position or it will immediately creep up off idle if in tension there

    the crosswindsstol 180 engine install uses ONE aeroseal? winged thumbscrew hose clamp with a hole in end of wing for each cable, throttle included......STC'd 40+ years.... kinda scary looking..... so when you start over designing things, might look to whats been out there already.....


  20. #20
    spinner2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Montana
    Posts
    1,789
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by JayH
    Spin,
    How is the aluminum angle attached to the engine mount? Is it adel clamps or...? Looking like the engine mount in that location is gonna be the way to go I guess.

    Thanks,
    J
    Steel clamps to motor mount tubes.

    No problem with flex in cable causing throttle creep. But after the picture was taken I did move the throttle arm attach bolt to the top hole to get full travel.
    "Fast is fine, but accuracy is everything." Wyatt Earp

  21. #21
    JayH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    NE Iowa
    Posts
    269
    Post Thanks / Like
    Thanks Spinner.

    Mike, now that sounds interesting, would like to see a photo of that operation.

  22. #22
    supilot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    49WA
    Posts
    474
    Post Thanks / Like
    Does someone make these mixture cable brackets or do guys just weld them together? P/N?
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	ImageUploadedByTapatalk1319407867.673409.jpg 
Views:	215 
Size:	111.7 KB 
ID:	4003  

  23. #23
    Gordon Misch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Toledo, Wa (KTDO)
    Posts
    3,712
    Post Thanks / Like
    Looks a lot like some factory brackets I have. I had to fabricate my own though, when converting to a short mount on my 12. A call to Univair might be worthwhile - -
    Gordon

    N4328M KTDO
    My SPOT: tinyurl.com/N4328M (case sensitive)

  24. #24
    Steve Pierce's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Graham, TX
    Posts
    20,190
    Post Thanks / Like
    Univair has them:
    12408-000 Clamp Assembly- Throttle Control $97.85
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	u12408-000.jpg 
Views:	89 
Size:	17.3 KB 
ID:	4005
    12407-000 Clamp Assembly- Mixture Control $64.43
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	u12407-000.jpg 
Views:	69 
Size:	47.7 KB 
ID:	4004
    Or you can Jake Leg it with Adel clamps and it will slip all over the place in time.
    Steve Pierce

    Everybody is ignorant, only on different subjects.
    Will Rogers

  25. #25
    Steve Pierce's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Graham, TX
    Posts
    20,190
    Post Thanks / Like
    I'll send you a parts manual with the next special surprise from Lee.
    Steve Pierce

    Everybody is ignorant, only on different subjects.
    Will Rogers

  26. #26
    supilot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    49WA
    Posts
    474
    Post Thanks / Like
    Thanks all...it must be made of gold or platinum.

    Steve, I'm good on special surprises. Returns yellow in color aren't accepted.

  27. #27

    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Normandy TN
    Posts
    314
    Post Thanks / Like
    The Van's bracket goes between the carb and sump and uses an extra carb gasket. They list it to fit 0320 ande 0360's would it also fit a 0235? Are the carb/sump
    bolt patterns the same for 0235 and 0320 carbs?


    Thanks
    JM

  28. #28
    Steve Pierce's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Graham, TX
    Posts
    20,190
    Post Thanks / Like
    Yes, the patterns are the same. Looks like a good alternative for experimental.
    Steve Pierce

    Everybody is ignorant, only on different subjects.
    Will Rogers

  29. #29
    Bushcaddy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Marshfield, MA
    Posts
    39
    Post Thanks / Like
    The bracket from Vans will not fit an O 235. The bottom of the O 235 oil sump that the bracket sits against is different than an O 320, there are also a few other subtle differences. The brackets from Vans only work if there is substantial room between the fire wall and the engine. I have an O 235 on my plane and had to fabricate brackets like those above in this thread. Took forever to get them right.

  30. #30
    Clark's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    12
    Post Thanks / Like
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Vans Bracket 1.JPG 
Views:	35 
Size:	508.3 KB 
ID:	4133Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Vans Bracket 2.JPG 
Views:	44 
Size:	419.3 KB 
ID:	4134 This is what the Van's Bracket looks like. The attached photos are showing the top surface that fits up against the sump & the carb fits on the underside (gaskests on both sides). This bracket fits a 360 - I don't know about the 235

  31. #31
    Steve Pierce's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Graham, TX
    Posts
    20,190
    Post Thanks / Like
    I couldn't see any difference between the O-235-C1 oil sump and the O-320-A series that I have other than the lack of a quick drain plug bung. Pictures show a modified suction screen plug. Can you clarify the difference?
    O-235-C1
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	100_6295.JPG 
Views:	41 
Size:	466.3 KB 
ID:	4136
    O-320-A series narrow deck.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	100_6296.JPG 
Views:	42 
Size:	426.9 KB 
ID:	4137
    Steve Pierce

    Everybody is ignorant, only on different subjects.
    Will Rogers

  32. #32
    Bushcaddy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Marshfield, MA
    Posts
    39
    Post Thanks / Like
    Steve,

    The problem with Vans bracket and the O 235 and O 290 is not so much the oil sump but the carb. You can see in the pic you posted above the indentation in the O 235 oil sump. The O 290 is the same. This is there because the throttle arm of the MA 3 carb is "proud" of the carb and needs this indentation. The biggest isssue though is that all of Vans carb bracketts are made to fit MA 4 carbs which have a bigger opening and therefore different bolt pattern than the O 235/290. If you have enough distance between the firewall and the carb it is possible to fabricate a Vans like design brackett for the O 235 (I did this)...but found I still could not use it due to the lack of space and i ended up patterning my connections like those on a Cub. Check out this link and scroll down to Issue #3, Bill has pics and an explanation: http://www.repucci.com/bill/engine.html
    Last edited by Bushcaddy; 11-08-2011 at 04:23 PM.

  33. #33
    Yooper Cub rotto789's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Mi. ( Yooper)
    Posts
    194
    Post Thanks / Like
    Clark,
    Does your Vans Bracket fit your engine? and if so do you have clearence from the fire wall? I just purchased the same bracket for mine but from what I am reading above it does not clear the fire wall, I have the 0320 B2B.

    Rick

  34. #34
    Clark's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    12
    Post Thanks / Like
    Hi Rick

    Yes the Van's Bracket fits my O-360. The total length of the bracket is about 12" (see attached photo). With my setup that leaves about 2 1/2" between the end of the Bracket & the firewall. My setup is an O-360 C2A6 "Conical Mounts". Hope that helps

    Clark
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Vans Bracket 12 inches.JPG 
Views:	80 
Size:	552.9 KB 
ID:	4140

  35. #35
    Yooper Cub rotto789's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Mi. ( Yooper)
    Posts
    194
    Post Thanks / Like
    Clark, thank you, that helps and no I don't think this will work for my configuration I only have about 9 1/2 inches center of carb intake to fire wall, on the flip side I think I will fabricate one simular to the vans bracket and use the gasket and idea from there bracket maybe even modify there's shorten it and bend it we'll see, thanks again
    Rick

  36. #36
    Clark's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    12
    Post Thanks / Like
    Just wanted to update the Van's Bracket idea for the throttle & mixture cable mounting (to engine - not engine mount). I had to modify - Cut off the rear section of this bracket to clear the cabin heater box monted on my firewall (see photos attached). If anyone has any questions ask away.Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Vans Bracket bottom.JPG 
Views:	303 
Size:	486.4 KB 
ID:	5553Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Vans Bracket Side.jpg 
Views:	258 
Size:	515.1 KB 
ID:	5554

  37. #37
    www.SkupTech.com mike mcs repair's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    chugiak AK
    Posts
    11,534
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Clark View Post
    Just wanted to update the Van's Bracket idea for the throttle & mixture cable mounting (to engine - not engine mount). I had to modify - Cut off the rear section of this bracket to clear the cabin heater box monted on my firewall (see photos attached). If anyone has any questions ask away.Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Vans Bracket bottom.JPG 
Views:	303 
Size:	486.4 KB 
ID:	5553Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Vans Bracket Side.jpg 
Views:	258 
Size:	515.1 KB 
ID:	5554

    very cool, no creepy throttle for you...

    someone should take the time to have these made and sell them,

  38. #38
    Clark's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    12
    Post Thanks / Like

    VANs Makes These

    Quote Originally Posted by mike mcs repair View Post
    very cool, no creepy throttle for you...

    someone should take the time to have these made and sell them,
    Hi Mike

    Van's Aircraft does make these & they are not expensive. All I did is purchase one & perfromed a 30 minuite modification of cutting off the back few inches to achieve clearance for my FWF setup.

    This info from the Van's Website;

    Van's now carries a complete line of throttle brackets with integral mixture attach points for the Lycoming O-320 and O-360 engines. These 4130 steel brackets are to be installed between the carburetor and the engine sump. This simple method only requires one additional carburetor gasket and we include it with the units listed.
    A system for installing either the throttle or mixture cable on the
    200HP-IO-360 is also available. See below.
    IT IS UP TO THE BUILDER TO DETERMINE THE SUITABILITY OF THIS ITEM TO HIS/HER INSTALLATION.
    Ordering Information
    THRTLE/MIX BRCKT IO 320/360/540 Vertical Induction
    Part Number = VA-182-PC KIT
    Price = $23.50
    Quantity

    THRTLE/MIX BRCKT/320
    Part Number = VA-149-320-PC KIT
    Price = $20.00
    Quantity

    THRTLE/MIX BRCKT/360
    Part Number = VA-149-360-PC KIT
    Price = $20.00
    Quantity

    THROTTLE/MIX KIT Horizontal Induction
    Part Number = IO-360 THROTTLE/MIX
    Price = $103.00
    Quantity

  39. #39
    Clark's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    12
    Post Thanks / Like
    Im very new at these websites - here is the website link for the Van's bracket

    http://www.vansaircraft.com/cgi-bin/...rottle-bracket

  40. #40

    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Hunt, Tx
    Posts
    25
    Post Thanks / Like
    Clark -

    I noticed that you had the bracket with both the throttle as well as the mixture cable. It appears that in order to clear your airbox you had to cut off the mixture piece of bracket......what is your plan for holding the end of the mixture sheath? I have an O360 in my PA18A with dynafocal mounts and a heck of a time holding the mixture end in the correct alignment, after 25 years of being ok, with the arm on the carb.

    Kirk Griffin

Similar Threads

  1. Control Cables?
    By gdafoe in forum Experimental Cubs
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-09-2008, 12:40 AM
  2. rudder control cables
    By pa19guy in forum Super Cub Sick Bay
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 11-21-2003, 01:16 PM

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •