Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0

Thread: North Dakota flying question

Post Thanks / Like

North Dakota flying question

Howdy folks,

Just writing to get some input on the "state of aviation" in North Dakota.

A little background; Work might relocate me from Texas to North Dakota in the next year or so (Minot area). I'm just looking to get a feel for the aviation community and any advice on airplane hangaring/ownership in the Minot area.

I'm currently between airplanes, used to own a PA-20 and a C180, but will be buying another C180/C185 in the next few months. I'm not a Mechanic but do most of my own maintenance and will be looking for a good IA for annuals/major repairs. Not to mention I have to look for a house!

Any advice or general info on flying/owning in North Dakota would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
    Bill

Post Thanks / Like
    Call Pietsch flying service 7018524092 and ask for Warren or Kent.

Post Thanks / Like
    P.s.- whats your background on cold weather?

Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by tempdoug
    Wish someone had asked me that before I moved to Minnesota.

Post Thanks / Like
    Now, that is funny .

MTV

Post Thanks / Like
    WOW somebody actually moving "to" North Dakota...

My hat's off to ya. I left the land of my youth 32 years ago but it draws me back two or three times a year. It's a wonderful place to be FROM!!!
    Bob D

Post Thanks / Like
    Well, I work on a rotational basis up here (2 weeks/month) and got two winters under my belt so far. As far as flying in the cold....none what so ever!!! All I know to do is to hangar, pre-heat, and make sure I've got adequate cylinder head/oil temps before blasting off. I'm sure there's more to it than that, though.

From what I've seen so far, weather wise, it looks like a lot of scud running days in the winter and wind. Lots of places to land though if you have trouble compared to East Texas!! As far as summer flying up here, I'm assuming it's pretty nice.