• If You Are Having Trouble Logging In with Your Old Username and Password, Please use this Forgot Your Password link to get re-established.
  • Hey! Be sure to login or register!

AK this Summer

SamIntel

I’m a student pilot (pre-solo, I’m not old enough yet) with around 35 hours. I’m really interested in back country flying and bush flying. My dad and I are going to be going to Alaska this summer, and while we’re there I want to do some flying.
I would like to get a lesson in a float plane, just for fun, and maybe a scenic flight/lesson. Is that something that I would need to schedule ahead before I go, or could I just figure it out once I get there?
I also thought it would be neat to fly around Denali. I was looking around on the Internet and found some outfits that do scenic tours of Denali. I thought that would be cool, except if I don’t really want to spend oodles of money to have some ells do all the flying. Is it possible to find someone who is a pilot/instructor who would make a lesson out of it, where I got to do some of the flying?
When we go there, I would like to fly as much as possible, but money is kind of limiting me. If it turns out to be less expensive than I thought, can anyone recommend some more flying activities to do?

-Sam

Sam,

I don't know anyone that can do that on the cheap. Good luck though. The insurance costs to insure a float plane for instruction ain't cheap. I don't even ask my insurance company what that costs. I don't mind taking people for a ride but I fly the TORCH.

I love the words "I'm not old enough yet" I've had several friends who's mothers drove them to the airport to solo because they didn't have their drivers license yet. What really sucks is that at 16 you can rent a plane and fly someplace and then can't rent a car when you get there.