• If You Are Having Trouble Logging In with Your Old Username and Password, Please use this Forgot Your Password link to get re-established.
  • Hey! Be sure to login or register!

Alaska Wildlife, Guides, Airtaxi's

Iliamna Alaska
I am just a fat old Alaskan resident with a cub that likes to take my kids on scenic flights, hunting, fishing and wild life viewing. Alaska is a fantastic place to fly, fish, explore and hunt. A piper cub or husky is king of the bush and gives you access to incredible remote places not accessible any other way.
Having lived full time in Alaska for 30 years (now a snow bird) and being a former air taxi owner, and a retired Alaska big game guide (master guide #110) I have no vested interest for the following comments
It is about the same difficulty to become a pilot and air taxi operator as it is to become an Alaska Registered Big Game Guide/outfitter. In my experience it takes about the same effort. Most successful Alaskan guides/outfitters own a PA-18 with big tires or floats. Most Guides, airtaxi pilots and for that matter private alaska pilots become good cub pilots or they do not survive..
There are too many bad hunting guides in Alaska. Most are not licensed. But there is a small percentage of bad licensed guides that give the rest a bad name. We need to get rid of them but as in any profession or avocation it is hard to weed out the bad ones.
Fish & Game Troopers do an admirable job but with over 44,000 miles of coast line and 375,000,000 acres to patrol they can not catch all the violators.
There is also the same percentage of bad air taxis operators dropping off way to many hunters and destroying our wildlife resource.
Alaska is divided into 26 game management units and each unit is divided into several subunits. Each Alaska Big Game Guides is limited to a total of only 3 subunits that they can take clients into.
Every Air Taxi can drop off as many hunters as they want any where in the state.