• If You Are Having Trouble Logging In with Your Old Username and Password, Please use this Forgot Your Password link to get re-established.
  • Hey! Be sure to login or register!

Heel brakes

High Country

FRIEND
Eagle River, AK
Being a new SC pilot I was wondering how you guys use your heel brakes when landing. It is very hard for me to use the heel brakes and keep my feet on the rudder pedals at the same time. My ankles don't want to bend that way. Do you take your feet off the rudders and go directly to the brakes on a landing roll? I have tried that and don't really like it. Maybe it takes some getting used to or maybe there is a different technique that I don't even know about. Any advice?

If your rudder pedals and brake pedals are rigged right it should not be a problem keeping your toes on the rudders while using your heels on the breaks. I've flown a few cubs that I wish had blocks on the brake pedals(one actually does)!

That's actually what I was thinking of doing David, putting blocks on the brakes. But having only ever flown my own cub I didn't know if this was a common problem or not.

High Country,

It'll take a while to get used to. I bought Superchamps Champ and being used to flying Cessna's it was a bugger trying to get used to the heel brakes in the Champ. Now, after flying it about 40 hours it is getting a little easier but still not quite "smooth". But seems to be getting more second nature than when I first started flying it.

I am the same way as you though as far as keeping my feet on the rudders and trying to manipulate the brakes. But the more I fly it the better I am getting. Just keep at it and it'll come to you.

Good luck,
Keith