• If You Are Having Trouble Logging In with Your Old Username and Password, Please use this Forgot Your Password link to get re-established.
  • Hey! Be sure to login or register!

Cessna 185 w/TUROTECH 350 HP LYCOMING CONVERSION

Steve Pierce

BENEFACTOR
Graham, TX
Anybody know anything about this conversion or this particular airplane.
http://tappix.com/732216

spec40793_3.jpg

I have no personal knowledge, but the late Mark Hawkins told me that he knew of at least one that had major cooling issues. I think Stancil had one for sale for a long time a few years ago.

Jack

Steve,

Remove the top cowl on one of those babies and you still can't see the engine. They have a plenum (if that's the right word) for a set of baffles.

A friend has one in Fairbanks, and loves it. He flys it a fair bit on floats and skis both, and swears by it. Lots of power, but all heat and complexity issues associated with a turbo-anything.

Also a heavy motor for a 185. But, man are they smooth.

MTV

Student Pilot said:
Has anybody heard of a straight 540 conversion, no turbo?

My brother bought a 185 that had been converted to a straight IO-540 by the previous owner. It was to be the first article for a new STC. It had so many problems that the owner demanded that the people put the 520 back in, which they did. Not exactly sure what the nature of the problems was.

Steve did you ever go look at this plane? I too have wondered about the 540 turbo. I do know that there is a lot less room under a T210 cowl over a non turbo 210.

I have been watching trade a plane for some time and this aircraft has been in there some time. I have never flown a 185,but have an intrest. I like lycomings too.

I figured some of these guys on this site would know the pros and cons.

I have been interested in the Texas Skyway conversion 550,and wonder if any here have any experience with this. I am interested in all opinions.