Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0

Thread: the winds are changing

Post Thanks / Like

the winds are changing

Here in northern ont we usual get winds from north west or north
    this winter winds are from south est and south completely reversed
    the weather is weird . most of the swamps are not frozen and only got
    6 to 14 inches of ice .I wonder if its global warming or just part of the cycle. The storms are mutch more violent and almost amazing to watch.
    Being a sailor and pilot i cant help but to notice the extremes change in weather,maybe the scientist are right or maybe not ,how knows.
    any input ?

Post Thanks / Like

big changes here, too

Big changes seen here too.

Another pilot and sailor here - we now have a half dozen 60 degree plus days so far this year here in Virginia, and on the Kenai Peninsula last summer thunderstorms were prevalent. Always too hot/humid summers in Virginia are much more unbearable.

And my old highschool snowmachine friends in Michigan have been on 4 wheelers for years - no snow.

I think we will see sea levels rise pretty soon.

Bob Breeden

Post Thanks / Like
    I think all that brown dingy stuff in the air has to have some effect. I ride my bicycle alot so I don't feel so guilty when I crank the 180 up.
    Marty

Post Thanks / Like
    The local paper ran an article saying that La Nina conditions had been confirmed by one of the federal agencies that makes pronouncements on these things.

Remember the big El Nino we had back in '83/'84? That was a particularly well developed cycle, with warm water fish moving far north along the California fish. With La Nina the cold water moves well south of its typical range. Maybe this cycle will be a really strong one, kind of balancing out the strong El Nino from '83/'84.
    Speedo

Post Thanks / Like