• If You Are Having Trouble Logging In with Your Old Username and Password, Please use this Forgot Your Password link to get re-established.
  • Hey! Be sure to login or register!

Prop pitch and length

canadiancubber

Hi guys,

Im a rookie on these things still so I need your help.

Ive got problems understanding this prop business, you know, when you guys talk about 75" or 50" or somewhat.

What to all the numbers on a prop mean, and how does the pitch work? More pitch, more speed, or more pitch more climb... etc... Ive never tought asking, but id like to be able to understand exactly!

Thank you guys so much!

Cheers

Fred

In example a 8242 prop would be 82 inches in diameter and 42 pitch.The less pitch the faster it will turn and usually produce more takeoff thrust.I always think of it as an airplane wing,the flatter the pitch the faster it will spin.For cruise you want more pitch.The more pitch the less rpms but more speed.In a constant speed propped airplane you would have flat pitch for takeoff and then increase pitch for cruise.

Canada;
Two numbers: the first is the length of the prop, tip to tip. Second number is the "pitch". This is the distance the prop would travel if rotated thru a solid medium (think real thick jello)...the greater the number the greater the distance the prop will travel. Higher number (pitch) will give higher airspeed, lower number (pitch) will give lower airspeed but better takoff performance.
Mike

prop pitch and length