• If You Are Having Trouble Logging In with Your Old Username and Password, Please use this Forgot Your Password link to get re-established.
  • Hey! Be sure to login or register!

Leading Edge Cuff

ksecub

Portland, OR
What does everyone think of the Crosswinds leading edge cuff? I have very little experience with it and was wondering if anyone had some comments pros or cons. As I see it, it adds more wing area and chamber. Theoretically it should reduce the stall speed without increasing the aircraft deck angle. Can anyone verify this with actual flight testing or experience? How does it affect the cruise speed? I was told by someone that it weighs 14 lbs, is this true? How easy is it to install? Do you cover the wing without the cuff first and then rivet the cuff on and tape over the seams?

I think the leading edge cuff is a great mod for the weight and the money if done at recover. I replaced the spars in one wing of my PA-12 last winter which has the cuff. Had it all apart and would be surprised if the extra leading edge material amounts to more than a few pounds per side. I did not weigh it so can't say for sure. The cuff is rivited or screwed to the leading edge before cover. The only thing I have compaired it to in flight is a PA-18. The cuff on the 12 seems to enable it to fly at a much higher angle of attack before the stall witch also makes the climb out very impressive. This may just be the difference in deck angle between the two but don't think so. Cruise speed is not affected as long as the cuff does not drop below the old leading edge. If I'm wrong you can bet these guys will set me straight. The few people I know with the cuff on their PA-18's say they wouldn't be without it. My experince is very limited compaired to the majority of poster's here so I am looking forward to hearing what everyone has to say on the subject. :stupid