PDA

View Full Version : TK1 vs. Acme Aero (SEP 2020)

hawgdrvr
10-06-2020, 09:51 AM
I've been researching landing gear for my May 2021 delivery of a CubCrafters FX-3. As this is a higher gross weight cub than the most prevalent SS model. I'm learning about what landing gear is the best fit for this aircraft at 2000 lbs gw. I asked in another thread about Beringer ALG vs Acme Aero and now I'm looking for opinions on TK1 shock monster vs. Acme Aero in their current generations as both have evolved over the years.

I welcome your opinions and experience to help me decide on the best shock for a FX3 taking into account both cold and hot climates, hard landings, etc.

Thank you.

Edit - haven't had enough coffee! It's OCT now! Ugh. Mods, if you can change the title from SEP 2020 to OCT 2020 I appreciate it.

stewartb
10-06-2020, 11:13 AM
Do some searching and you'll see this has been discussed more than once. Both brands had early growing pains but these days both brands are very reliable and highly respected. I chose TK-1 for shocks and more recently for gear. Acme makes both shocks and gear and I'd be happy with their products as well. Both suspensions are better than what's available to the standard category guys.

hawgdrvr
10-06-2020, 11:15 AM
Do some searching and you'll see this has been discussed more than once. Both brands had early growing pains but these days both brands are very reliable and highly respected. I chose TK-1 for shocks and more recently for gear. Acme makes both shocks and gear and I'd be happy with their products as well as well. Both suspensions are better than what's available to the standard category guys.

I did search and read the threads which were mostly dated. Just seeing where we are with recommendations of late and for heavier cubs.

FYI I used google and typed: site:supercub.org TK1 vs. Acme

stewartb
10-06-2020, 11:34 AM