• If You Are Having Trouble Logging In with Your Old Username and Password, Please use this Forgot Your Password link to get re-established.
  • Hey! Be sure to login or register!

"SAFE" wheels down amphib landing (gear)

NimpoCub

Nimpo Lake, BC . . . AKA "the Floatplane Capital o
Mike Hirshfield here. I’m the Membership Chairman of the BC Floatplane
Association. I’m also a private pilot with 60 years flying experience. I’ve
been an amphib pilot for 19 years.

In response to your invitation to comment on amphib safety flying…on your
subject of wheels down water landings of amphibious aircraft.

The certified amphib aircraft are locked in to some form of check.
Example.. a checklist, voice recorders, lights, buzzers, mirrors, visual
retraction flags..all help but are not foolproof. The homebuilt aircraft
on the other hand, would be free to design safety into their machine, to not
flip. I have done this with my aircraft. The solution is an engineering
one.

My amphib is a homebuilt, so I could design it so that it would not flip at
landing speeds with wheels down on the water. There was no intention of
testing this feature but test it I did. Twice. Raven Lake in Pitt Meadows
and Schoolhouse Lake in the Cariboo (both within BC). A great lot of spray
and a very quick stop was the result. And a pilot that felt very stupid was
all that happened on both occasions.

My aircraft is a stretched TriPacer with a designed wing and a systems
designed automotive engine. The floats were specifically designed so as the
aircraft they carried, at landing speeds with wheels down, would not flip.
However, there was much more than designing the floats. The entire aircraft’s
centre of gravity, the distance from the fuselage to the floats, extra
floatation in the front of the floats, fuel carried in the floats rather
than the wings, the length of the fuselage, the design and type of the spray
rails, the size of the floats (2500’s), many items contributed to a safe