• If You Are Having Trouble Logging In with Your Old Username and Password, Please use this Forgot Your Password link to get re-established.
  • Hey! Be sure to login or register!

painting EDO Floats

Danielle

Meadow Lakes / 29A
I was looking at a set of EDO 2000 floats to buy and noticed that they had been painted with silver paint. It looked very professional. They looked to be in excellent shape . No dings no dents all seams and rivits looked very tight . But I am worried why someone would have painted them?
Is it common? this will be my first set of floats so I am new at this. But I know someone who took the airplane on a three day trip and said they had no leaks . Any insight on why you would paint floats would be appreciated .
Danielle

They're all painted. You've never seen mill finish aluminum floats. The most common paint is silver float lacquer but some guys paint to match the airplane. Paint protects against corrosion and it makes the floats look good. There's nothing to fear. Appreciate that somebody did the work so you don't have to!

As long as it was done RIGHT. Look for blisters where water may have got trapped betwixt the paint & the 'luminum. Scratch any blisters & look for corrosion (white powder). I bought a set that had heavy black coating on the bottoms & had corrosion, had to strip & re-lacquer.

That sounds like good news, thanks for the response .

Tomorrow I ferry the airplane over to Wolf lake for the installation . Everyone thinks I am crazy putting floats on this late in the season, but I am itching to get over to my cabin for some R&R.
Danielle

so, what is it with still using lacquer paint on floats? seems there has to be more modern products that would have better adhesion and sealing properties.

To quote the man that get me into flying, a long time mechanic: Lacquer solves a myriad of imperfections!