• If You Are Having Trouble Logging In with Your Old Username and Password, Please use this Forgot Your Password link to get re-established.
  • Hey! Be sure to login or register!

so who's right here?

As a student, I had an experience with a 141 near Travis AFB with an instructor on board. He told me to take off the hood and take a look! I thought he was shockingly close, the instructor thought it was no big deal and had it in sight the whole time.
Because of their size (really big... by comparison) they look damn close. sk

I would think the airforce will have control of that airspace and pilots will not be allowed to fly in the area they practice in.

I am guessing that a huge plane like that looks a lot closer than it actually is. I bet they had the 500ft separation as claimed. Both pilots have the responsibility to see and be seen. It ain't a one way street. When I was learning to fly a couple of A10's were in the pattern with me at Eielson AFB. When those A10's turned on their downwind legs I was looking right up the back side of their engines and that was all I could see. I thought it was way dayum cool.

drinkingsquirrel.gif

Last edited:
I'll just say it.
A couple of chicks overreacting.
Most pilots get passed like that the FAA is never involved.