• If You Are Having Trouble Logging In with Your Old Username and Password, Please use this Forgot Your Password link to get re-established.
  • Hey! Be sure to login or register!

How can I fly the Alaskan bush?

Ok, I know that's probably going to cause a few snickers...but it's the most concise way I could think of to say it, and this is the best audience I could think of to ask it to. I'm a lawyer right now and I hate it. (*ok...go ahead and throw your tomatoes now...I know, I hate 'em too.*) It was a major mistake, and now I'm correcting it...about halfway to my PPL and loving every second of it, flying on the side between agonizing days of lawyering. I have to pay off a mountain of student debt before I can quit for good, but I'm doing that as fast as I can and looking forward each day to finally being able to do something I've always wanted to do. I'm 32 with a wife and kid. The only workable plan I can think of is simply to move to AK in a couple of years when debt isn't killing me as much, get the rest of my ratings (any good places come to mind?), CFI for a long time (maybe permanently?)...then just go for it. Or should I stop being a doofus and smack myself between the eyes with a big gnarly 2x4 reality board?

As my Grandpa once said " If you're heart's not in it, get you ass out of it"
Someone else said "Stick with what you know".

Maybe there is a compromise somewhere.......aviation attorney, etc. Good luck on your decision.

Newbie said:
The only workable plan I can think of is simply to move to AK in a couple of years when debt isn't killing me as much, get the rest of my ratings (any good places come to mind?), CFI for a long time (maybe permanently?)...then just go for it. Or should I stop being a doofus and smack myself between the eyes with a big gnarly 2x4 reality board?