• If You Are Having Trouble Logging In with Your Old Username and Password, Please use this Forgot Your Password link to get re-established.
  • Hey! Be sure to login or register!

Finally a use for those Goodyear Tires!

PA12driver

Battle Ground, WA
Photo taken of a Piper (not a cub) with 26" goodyears all the way around!

Only in ALASKA!
Murph? did you bring this up from TX?

Enjoy!

Tim

26ingoodyears.jpg

Those Cherokee 140's are the best mountain flying airplane ever made. I think I remember when I was a hunting guide in Nepal how we strapped those big snowman (known as big foot's here) to the nose gear and flew em out from 26,000 ft. What a thrill that was and what an airplane. Boy if we'd had them bushwheels back then we could have hunted at 27,000 ft.

Flying these little cubs is just not the same.

:D :D

I had a lot of fun on my 26" goodyears today, and yes I am a bush pilot wannabee but I have to land on concrete once in a while, and I hear those bushwheels just won't take more than 3 concrete landings....

sj

Tim:

You big-tire boys are really hard on us flat-landers. My little 26"ers are about all I can drag around. I almost got stuck in the mud yesterday, but with my extraodinary piloting skills (and the help of 3 buddies), I was able to fly her out.

Once I rolled up enough black gumbo mud on my tires that they were bigger than yours. Not until I reached about 25 or 30 mph did it start shucking off and the resultant 1000 lb. decrease in weight just launched me out of the bog. Next time I'll remember to install my side windows, though. Took a few days to get all the mud out of the cockpit and off the bottom of the wings.

If I had started out with 31" tires, I'm afraid they would have been rubbing on the wing struts. :p

murph