• If You Are Having Trouble Logging In with Your Old Username and Password, Please use this Forgot Your Password link to get re-established.
  • Hey! Be sure to login or register!

McCall Mounting Flying Article

mt flying article

Cub Special and all,

Can't resist my 2 cents at this point, I guess.
Starting backwards, I certainly agree with Cub Special on the variance of places in Alaska, although I have little off-field experience up there. However, my old chief pilot at Salmon Air Taxi in 1979, Carl Branham, had over 9000 hours on floats in Alaska in Beavers, not to mention a bunch of off field time in cubs up there. He also had good experience in Idaho, and his comment was that strip for strip, Idaho was tougher. However, with all the off field opportunities, Alaska more than made up for that, and with the weather and wilderness considerations it could be a handful. However, for designated airstrips, he considered Idaho the most challenging.
The next point, on which mt. flying seminar is better, Challis or McCall, I guess that is really a moot point since Bob died.
However, I feel a little background information is in order.
Bob's school, the River of No Return Mountain Flying Seminar, was started in 1987 or so by Frank Giles and a host of professional air taxi backcountry pilots, such as Bill Dorris, Frank, Bob, Ken Jones, Gridley Rowles, just to mention a few. It was blessed by John Goostrey of the FAA (one of the good guys) and continued under Bob's purview since about 1989. A more experienced group of instructors would have been hard to find. As the years went on, Bob continued to get some of the best pilots around, Tim Keogh and Steve Cope for two. An important point is that these instructors were air taxi pilots, used to flying in all kinds of weather back there, with 206's, 185's, etc. with heavy loads. A far cry from a lighter trainer or Super Cub, although they had experience there too.
The experience they could impart was invaluable.